The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, January 19th, 2001

Directed by Guy Ritchie

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Snatch.
A diamond thief is robbed in London en route to New York to deliver a huge diamond to a crime boss. Double-crossing, double bluffing and double-dealing abound as various parties pursue personal...  View more >

R
strong violence, language and some nudity

Starring Vinnie Jones, Brad Pitt, Jason Statham...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Snatch..

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by Glen Kimberley Jan 16, 2001

Guy Ritchie has succeeded again in delivering a movie just as good, gritty and funny as Lock Stock & 2 Smoking Barrels.

Using the same ‘in-your-face’ style as LS2SB this is tightly scripted with cleverly intertwined plotlines, imaginatively shot and with a great cast. This is an immensely entertaining film.

Amongst the swag of weird but likeable characters such as ‘Brick Top’ ‘Bullet Tooth Tony’ ‘Frankie Four Fingers’ ‘Turkish’ ‘Doug The Head’ and ‘Boris The Blade’ Brad Pitt stands out particularly as a charismatic and near-incomprehensible Irish Gypsy boxer named ‘One Punch’ Mickey O’Neil.

And, although there is violence in the movie, most of it, as in Lock Stock, is indirect so as not to dominate and detract from the black comedy aspect. (It will also make you think twice about eating pork again)

One of the best films so far this year.

9/10 glenk@foxit.com.au (Feel free to contact me)

Unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Glen Kimberley is actively encouraged. (As long as you let me know) I will not track you down, kill your family, rape your dog, burn your house down or bang a supermarket trolley into your car door.
 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Ron Jan 28, 2001

Waste of admission. Poor acting and hard to understand talking with all the heavy accents. Brad Pitt has really lost it if he has to take a low-budget picture of this nature! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Mike Jan 29, 2001

I saw this movie a week ago, and this afternoon I am going back to enjoy it again.

I haven't laughed so hard in a theater in a long time. And this film is not just hilarious, it is a full blown shoot-em-up gangster movie on top of it all.

Like I said at first, this movie is not only worth paying for once, but I'm going back for seconds! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Iily Jan 31, 2001

Chaotic, witty, eccentric, and hip, Guy Ritchie's latest film "Snatch" is a visual bombast involving an eclectic array of intriguing characters. Ritchie takes us on a fast-paced ride through London, introducing us to a four-fingered gambler (Del Toro), a saturnine boxing promoter named Turkish (Statham), his lovable maladroit partner Tommy (Graham), a bullet-dodging Russian (Serbedzija), the wanna-be-jewish diamond dealer Doug the Head (Reid), the authentic jewish diamond dealer Cousin Avi (Farina), a marble-mouthed gypsy boxer (Pitt), and many other diversified characters. Each personality has it's own individualized mark which together form a melange of the bizarre.

Set in London, the story follows what happens surrounding a much sought after 84 karat diamond. As the plot begins to unfold, the interlocking stories involving unlicensed boxing, stolen diamonds, and caravans are revealed to make for a witty nearly unimaginable ending. Ritchie's innovative cinematography including quick paced action-to-freeze-frame-cuts and split screens is captivating, stylish, zany, and full of frenetic energy. In addition to Ritchie's remarkable camerawork, his choice of music is not to be left unnoticed. Offbeat cuts like Klint's Diamond, Disco Science by Mirwais, and Massive Attack's Angel coexist perfectly with the skittish visuals.

The music, cinematography, witty dialogue, and bewitching characters are only a few distinguishable features of many in this cleverly hilarious and entertaining comedy. Snatch is well worth the money, time, and energy. 

[--- See Now! ---]by bagggladys Jan 31, 2001

Disorder. Humor. Absurdity. Style. And above all, that subtle little spark that few big name movies attain, that perfect blending of every cinematic aspect that inducts you deliciously into its center and holds you there, in spite of yourself.

"Snatch" is a rapid, finely-tuned ride through the antics of a consciously and hilariously stereotypical cast of characters: our sardonic narrator, Turkish (Statham), his lovably inept partner Tommy (Graham), a Russian gangster (Serbedzija), a mafioso-ish diamond importer Jew (Farina), an eccentric gypsy fighter (Pitt), and many more, including the ultimate psycho-killer bastard, "Brick Top" (Ford.) Each role is expertly acted, and no one actor takes over the screen; the plethora of bizarre identities enriches the light, stylish flavor of the film.

As for the plot, all the madness ensues from one glittering 84 carat diamond (hence the film’s pithy title, "Snatch".) I’m not going to disclose any more than that; it’d be a crime to rob prospective viewers of the opportunity to watch Guy Ritchie’s creation unfold. From quirky personas to really sharp, edgy cinematography, "Snatch" makes for a hellishly comical and entertaining two hours. Enjoy. 

[--- See Now! ---]by gem Feb 1, 2001

I loved this movie. it is so original not only in plot but in the way the characters are portrayed.

I saw it 6 days ago and still smile when I think of some of the things in the movie. I will warn You though it has some humor in it that will offend those who wil not look at it for entertainment. The black men in the movie are particularly well cast and very funny. The dog with the squeeker really novel and funny . Brad Pitt did a magnificent job creating a truly different character.

I would watch this one again as I am sure I would get more out of it each time. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.