The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, February 5th, 1999

Directed by Wes Anderson
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:30

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Rushmore
A brilliant but adventurous student in an elite California prep school is placed on sudden death academic probation, facing expulsion for one more failed test. A wealthy alumnus (Bill Murray)...  View more >

R
language and brief nudity

Starring Jason Schwartzman, Olivia Williams, Bill Murray...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  5 50 See Now! Percent
Good  2 20 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 10 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  2 20 Stay Away! Percent
10 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Rushmore.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This was a really odd movie, but odd in a good way. Going into it I sort of expected a rather "silly" comedy, but the movie was much blacker than I expected. Don't get me wrong, it's still quite funny, just not "stupid" funny. The story is fairly basic, though by no means boring or contrived, and it moves well. The acting is great. Bill Murray is just great. I also loved the general tone and feeling of the film - most of it takes place in the fall and the dark/cold scenes really work with the story of the film. What this all means is that "Rushmore" is a really good film. I didn't get what I expected... I got much more. So, if you're trying to decide on a film to see, go see this one. I mean it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Rushmore is one of the few movies that I've walked out of and thought, "I need to see that again soon and then I need to get the book and then I need to own the video." The strange part is that despite the richness of the characters and the depth of writing, there is no book. It only seems like there should be, because how else can a screenplay make you understand characters, their past and their motives. Rushmore is a finely written, superbly acted sublime comedy that just delighted me. I wonder if everyone else will feel the same, but I have no problem giving it my highest recommendation if you're looking for a smart comedy with a simple, well-told story.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Here's a comedy that doesn't have to hit you over the head to be funny. Basically, the story is as follows: A young prep school student (Jason Schwartzman) falls in love with a new young teacher at his school (Olivia Williams). To woo her, he enlists the help of a wealthy alumnus (Bill Murray), who is himself disenchanted with his life. The alumnus soon realizes that he is also in love with the teacher, and the rivalry begins.

That's the story, but the movie is so much more than that. The humor is subtle, VERY subtle, but the film is often hilarious. Bill Murray gives one of the best understated comic performances I've seen in a long time, and newcomer Jason Schwartzman fits his character perfectly. The screenplay delivers its humor gradually, slowly increasing the level of chaotic behavior until you are willing to accept the film's world on its own terms. Once again, the story is thin on plot, deciding instead to focus on character study, a novel idea for a comedy. It's the little things that make you laugh, and that is when a comedy has truly succeeded.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Iím still trying to figure out what this movie is saying. Am I supposed to sympathize with one of the most annoying and obnoxious characters to grace the screen this year? Over the course of the last half hour of the film thatís certainly whatís implied. I liked the slightly dark, definitely irreverent tone of Rushmore as well as the offbeat moviemaking techniques utilized. Bill Murrayís character is alternately funny and pathetic, and itís a good (though not Oscar-worthy) performance. But there just seems to be something missing.

10-point scale: 5

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie about a 15 year old boy who has a crush on one of the teachers that teaches at his prep school is humorous in a quirky sort of way. Jason Schwartzman gives a very covincing portrayal of his character. Bill Murray also is very good in this movie. "Rushmore" has a kind of humor that is in a league of it's own. It's not dumb humor as audiences saw in "The Waterboy", nor is it the type of humor that you saw in "shakespeare in Love," it's in the middle. Overall, I enjoyed the movie. The soundtrack is great, with baroque style music composed by Mark Motherbrugh.

My Rating: **3/4 stars

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Gosh, I went to see this because of the glowing reviews I read in the Milwaukee Journal Sentinal and because Bill Murray is one of my favorites. I was deeply, deeply....disappointed in this overrated film of a prep school brat who can't take "NO" for an answer. By the way, Bill is aging rather poorly and I tried not to think of myself as being of his generation...do I look that bad? Geez, I hope not. All in all, don't go there.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
All the while I watched this movie I could not get a grip on what it was about plus it had a predictable hollow plot. I think this would make a good nomination for a B-movie for 18 year olds.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I think that "Rushmore" is one of those movies that isn't "for everyone" per se. A black comedy to be sure, but if you are the type that goes in for that, you will be charmed. The movie seems to take on an adult theme of childs play; the immaturity of a young man in love juxtaposed with the adult man in love with the same woman connotes a hilarious revelation that the difference between boys and men in the art of love is not all that huge of a gap. Go into this film with an open mind: expect too much from something and you'll never get the subtle, underlying message. "Rushmore" was fun, light, and yet deeply moving. The soundtrack is awesome. If you liked "Bottlerocket", you'll love "Rushmore".

[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberApr 3, 2002
A likable comedy about a prep student played by Jason Schwartzman who faces explusion in this weird comedy about an usual student who rebels against the teachers.

Bill Murray is very funny. His best film in years. "Rushmore" is one film that doesn't take itself seriously, thus becoming a film that dares to be both funny and different...and succeeds.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 27, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.