The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, May 25th, 2001

Directed by Michael Bay
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 3:03

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Pearl Harbor
Academy Award® Winner
Director Michael Bay (Armageddon, The Rock) brings this epic to the big screen, covering the events surrounding December 7th, 1941 and its impact on two young pilots and a beautiful nurse.  View more >

PG-13
sustained intense war sequences, images of wounded, brief sensuality and some language

Starring Ben Affleck, Josh Hartnett, Kate Beckinsale...  View more >

Oscar ® Winner for Best Achievement in Sound Editing
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  15 63 See Now! Percent
Good  3 13 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  6 25 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
24 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  May 24, 2001
You will definately see this movie more then once.......It is better then the Titanic.....

The movie has everything, love, passion, war and peace - and it only had 2 swear words in the entire movie......

Heroic men and women are still around that were part of this awesome historical saga.

Of course a lot of the movie is part truth but it will grasp you and hold you till the ending scene. Better bring a handkerchief......
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 25, 2001
Way worth the big screen visuals! The special effects will knock your socks off and the guys (Ben Affleck & Josh Hartnett) aren't half bad either. Don't wait to rent this movie...go see it now! It's your patriotic duty to find out what your countrymen/women endured.

This poignant movie will have you on the edge of your seat in one scene and near tears the next...but it's all good I kid you not! I have a much better understanding of the whole situation, (how it could possibly happen) and want to learn more because of seeing this movie.

GO SEE IT TONIGHT!!!
[--- Good ---]by  May 25, 2001
A great movie to see on the big screen. Lots of action and the camera work is fantastic. It seems a lot shorter than the three hours it lasts.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 28, 2001
Screw the critics! Make an effort to see it on the big screen...won't translate to dvd/video well.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP MemberMay 28, 2001
"Pearl Harbor" has plenty of special effects, but aside from that, there's not much to recommend. The film is the fourth retelling of the surprise Japanese attack, dating back to "From Here to Eternity," in 1953. Since then two more movies on the attack on Pearl Harbor, "In Harm's Way" in 1965 and "Tora! Tora! Tora!" in 1970.

My question I had to ask is, "Is the attack on Pearl Harbor worth retelling, the answer is, aside from the special effects is no. The film isn't wroth sitting though without being bored by a three-way tranagle relationship.

Ben Affleck and Josh Hartnett played fighters, who knew each other since they were kids. Entering their lives is Kate Beckinsale as a nurse who fell in love with the other two. The subplot of that relationship must have been planted from "Dawson's Creek." The performance of the cast is dull, except for the chamastic Cuba Gooding Jr. who played a cook until the japanese began to attack and Jon Voight as President Franklin Roosevelt.

During the attack, the film claim that the US shot down 27 Japanese bombers, where in reality they shot down only three. You think maybe the filmmakers had jack up the number to get the audience to cheer? And how about the newreels? They're annoying and should have gotten rid of just to save the film at least four minutes. The real reason why the film is released around Memorial Day weekend, so that the media will promote the movie as a big blockbuster.

In other words, you can't put "Pearl Harbor" on a happy meal. The Pearl Harbor veterans probaby couldn't care less about the movie, except what they experienced is the real thing first-hand.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 30, 2001
This is a must see movie. Definitely something that is best seen on the big screen. It does not surprise me at all that this movie is doing as well as it is. The love story was something that kept me very interested, the history and the action kept me on the edge of my seat. There is a little something for everyone in this film.

I have to disagree with one of the other comments made here about this movie that it is not worthwhile. The comment was that the movie mentions that the US shot down 29 planes which supposedly was not true. My comment to this is that this is not a history film. Yes, it is based on historical events but if you are expecting something that will follow historical accounts completely accurately, then this is not the right movie. Obviously some points are going to be dramatized a bit more for the Hollywood appeal.

Also, the comment that this is the 4th retelling of Pearl Harbor should not keep people from seeing this. This is a story that should be retold and should not be forgotten. It is definitely worthwhile. Great acting, great special effects. Bottom line - a great story!
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 31, 2001
I know there has been some less than great reviews about this movie but I say, See this movie now. It's a great movie and needs to be seen on the big screen. I didn't realize how devistating the destruction was at Pearl Harbor until I saw this movie.
[--- Good ---]by  Jun 1, 2001
This was a good movie overall. it was too long for my taste though (3 hours and 6 minutes). Good plot, although it was somewhat predictable. Great special effects, so seeing it in a theater would be best. Could have been a better movie without all the sappy love scenes and if it dealt more with the war itself.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 1, 2001
See it now! It's the best! Be ready to cry.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 2, 2001
I agree, screw the critics. I'd admit it is not a perfect movie, yet it is really worth seeing.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberJun 2, 2001
Pearl Harbor plays like a miniseries that could be spread across three nights. At just over three hours, it will probably receive the miniseries treatment when it reaches network television. This length, however, is not so drawn out that you start looking at your watch, wondering when the end will be.

If you haven't heard by now, this isn't a documentary about the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the politics that drew us into World War II. It's a love story that is set against that time period, and the bombing just happens to occur during the telling of the story. Set aside your expectations of historical accuracy and see it for what it is.

If you do this, I believe that you will enjoy this movie. At times, it was a little melodramatic for my taste, with scenes that look like they were meant to be picturesque and meaningful. These run counter to your expectations of what a Michael Bay / Jerry Bruckheimer film is supposed to be, but perhaps that is not so much a fault of the filmmakers than it is of the viewers...

Being titled "Pearl Harbor" means that the bombing sequence is going to get a lot of attention, and the film definitely does not disappoint. While you are not drawn into it as fully as you are with the beginning of Saving Private Ryan, the attack is seen from multiple perspectives and you get a feeling that you are watching it in real time. Very well done.

The love triangle the forms the plot of the movie is weak, but present, and serves as the constant through the three parts. While likable, you never get close to any of the characters, and this is perhaps the movie's greatest failing. In Titanic, I was drawn into the relationship between Jack and Rose, and here, it didn't much matter who ended up with whom.

Pearl Harbor earns a See Now! rating due to the spectacle of the movie, and the excellent visuals and sound effects. The masters at Industrial Light & Magic did such a superb job of special effects work that I did not once notice which scenes were the result of their handiwork and which were on-set. The bombing sequence will test the mettle of any theater, so make sure you see this in the best sounding theater you can!

While not an epic of the likes of Ben Hur or even Tora! Tora! Tora!, Pearl Harbor is worth the price of admission and begs to be seen on the big screen.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 3, 2001
This movie is on a level with Titanic. However, in this movie, the love story isn't nearly as predominant as in Titanic (making it easier for the guys to swallow). Good one to see for both men and women.

The 3 hours actually go by pretty fast - some movies drag on and on, making you wonder when it'll be over, but not this one.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 3, 2001
See it! Don't be scared away by the reviewers saying it's only a love story. It is partly a love story, but it is also much more. We loved it.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jun 4, 2001
Two and one half hours of soap opera and thirty minutes of action. I didn't expect three hours of action but so much of the movie had nothing to do with the bombing of Pearl Harbor. The romance was cliche and unbelievable.

Characters played by Cuba Gooding Jr. and Colm Feore could have been better developed. The hours following the attack could have been portrayed in greater detail. Instead the filmakers opted to try to cover the Dolittle bombing on Tokyo. Too much to cover in one movie.

The filmakers were shooting for "Titanic" but came up miserably short. I'll only rent it when it's available for the action, sound, and special effects of the bombing. That's all that this film does right. If you want to see a film that does a much better job on this subject, rent "Tora, Tora, Tora".
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jun 13, 2001
I wish there was a rating for "Not worth the hype" or "Barely worth sitting through". I think Pearl Harbor was worth my seven bucks, but I was expecting more from all the previews. It was also WAAAAAY too drawn out. Cuba Gooding Jr. was a waste of talent considering his character added NOTHING but time to the movie. The romance was also kinda stupid for reasons I won't go into in case it'd spoil the surprises for others.

Anyway, the dogfights were cool and the special effects were awsome for a whole... 10 minutes. If you've seen a movie in the past 2 months, you've probably already seen the entire "attack" scene in the previews. The rest of the movie was useless sub-plot in my opinion.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jun 17, 2001
Rather than going to see this movie, you should find WWII vet and spend some time with them. The movie will always be there, the vets won't.

We can't thank them enough...
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 18, 2001
Good movie, u will have to see it!
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jun 19, 2001
I hate rating a movie like this on the system given here. "Good" does NOT describe this movie, but it isn't so bad that you should "Stay Away!" However, waiting for rental isn't a good idea if you're going to see this no matter what, because the translation will lose the only appeal this movie has: great special effects, action, and sound.

Please, don't see "Pearl Harbor" expecting a love story equaling "Titanic." The love story is mediocre at its best, laughable at its worst. Soap opera cliches play a prominant role in the story, so perhaps the best thing to do is ignore the horrendous dialogue and paper-thin characters altogether and enjoy the action (which isn't perfect either; bad science may annoy many viewers).

However, with a three-hour movie, you're sure to get bored pretty soon.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 21, 2001
It was hard to decide what to rate this... either a good or see now! I chose see now because even though at times it felt like a soap opera more than a movie, I thought it was really good.

The special effects for the cool scenes were excellent!!! I sat in the theater and was like, Woa. Seeing it in the theaters would be the optimal choice!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 24, 2001
This is a very good movie. Go see it while it's on the big screen. A tv won't do this movie any justice.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 25, 2001
this was the best movie i have ever seen!!! ohmygod go see it right now it is the best!!! plus the guys are really hot!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 26, 2001
OMG! Pearl Harbor beats all the other historical movies! The special efects are beyond everythn the cast i superb and the plot is awesome! Whether you like romance, war or hisory go see this movie! I'm going to see it for the second time 'cause I love it so much! Oh and one more thing bring some tissues!
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jul 25, 2001
A big puff of fluff wrapped in the seriousness of death and carnage. A movie where there is more than meets the eye than the heart. Lots and lots of eye candy. Slow shots of people running around screaming. Got old after awhile. Slow shots are fine a few times, but not all the time.

This movie was a big disappointment. The first of many disappointing summer movie's this year.
[--- Good ---]by  Aug 25, 2001
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ...Great 3 hour nap!!!

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Pearl Harbor.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.