The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, June 26th, 1998

Directed by Steven Soderbergh
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 1:42

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Out of Sight
Academy Award® Nominee
A crime caper (with a romantic twist) starring George Clooney as Jack Foley, an escaped bank robber who has no intention of going back to prison and Jennifer Lopez as Karen Sisco, the Federal Marshal...  View more >

R
language and some strong violence

Starring George Clooney, Jennifer Lopez, Ving Rhames...  View more >

Oscar® Nominated for Best Screenplay

Winner of Best Film, Best Director, and Best Screenplay at the National Society of Film Critics Awards in...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  5 63 See Now! Percent
Good  1 13 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 25 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
8 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberJan 25, 2000
Movies like "Out of Sight" give me hope for the entire movie industry. Not often does a movie come out that has this kind of originality and tone, since such a movie might not appeal to the mainstream and mass-market audience.

I had a similar impression after seeing Michael, which also had a level of originality and an off-beat tone that really appealed to me.

George Clooney and Jennifer Lopez are great in portraying the chemistry necessary between the two main characters. They should be enemies, clearly positioned on opposite sides of the issue, but they each feel an unavoidable attraction to each other. Transcending their roles in the current situation, they rise above current events and explore (both in reality and in dream sequences) what would happen if circumstances were different.

I can think of no one else that could have played each character better. Ving Rhames, Dennis Farina, Don Cheadle, and even Steve Zahn play their parts well, and watch for cameos by Michael Keaton and Samuel L. Jackson.

George Clooney is carving out quite a place for himself in movies, with last year's The Peacemaker as an example of how he is progressing from playing a twitchy doctor on TV (a role that he is outgrowing). Jennifer Lopez is the ideal image of beauty and strength, without sacrificing one for the other.

This is a crime film, so there is some violence and gunplay, and it's a romance (of sorts) so it has sexual themes. Neither element are laid out in front of you with such vivid detail that leaves nothing to the imagination, which is one of the goals of a good story, right? A good film lets you fill in the blanks instead of force-feeding every plot element and showing every drop of blood and inch of bare skin. Even so, it's not a film I would take a young child to, they wouldn't understand it anyway.

As with Michael, I predict that not everyone will like Out of Sight, and that's OK, since if everyone likes a film, then not enough chances were taken and originality would most likely have been replaced wholesale by formula.

I plan on seeing this movie again, most likely on video, since it will be one I will want to watch from time to time just because it's not ordinary and doesn't follow a formula in an effort to entertain the viewer.

This review is the property of Scott Jentsch, Copyright 1998. This information cannot be reprinted without the permission of the author.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
In a summer movie season filled with blockbuster let-downs (i.e. Godzilla, X-Files), 'Out of Sight' is by wide margin the funniest, hippest, and coolest movie of the season. Great performances all the way around. If I had to pick my mid-year Oscars, I'd nominate George Clooney for Best Actor (along with Jim Carrey from Truman Show and Warren 'Bulworth' Beatty). Clooney would win. Also, Jennifer Lopez wins my mid-year Best Actress award, as does Steve Zahn for Supporting Actor. Both are unchallenged in their categories. Zahn almost steals the show as a pot-smoking doofus. Ving Rhames gives his best performance since 'Pulp Fiction', and Don Cheadle is also very convincing as an intimidating gangsta crime lord. The acting carries this show. The script is also excellent. Based on the Elmore Leonard novel, this movie is by far the best film translation of a Leonard book. My only complaint is the sporadic freeze-frame photography, but don't let that discourage you. I saw this on Saturday night, and the entire sold out auditorium loved it, judging from the laughs. let me put it to you this way: OUT OF SIGHT IS THE BEST CRIME MOVIE SINCE 'PULP FICTION' (yes, I consider both 'The Usual Suspects' and 'LA Confidential' to be crime films).

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Every summer movie out there take note: there is this great little film called "Out Of Sight" that is better than all of your so called "movies". This movie has what people come for: character, story, thought, emotion; hell, it makes you care about what happens.

So few films care about structure the way Steven Soderberg does. In "Out Of Sight", George Clooney plays Jack Foley, a down on his luck robber who keeps getting into jail. As the film opens, we witness Jack getting caught after a lucky bank robbery, which lands him in a Florida correctional facility. Naturally, Jack tries to break out, with the assistant of his best friend and partner Buddy (Ving Rhames). When he does, he happens upon a federal marshall named Karen Sisco (played by Jennifer Lopez) and takes her hostage.

They both wind up in the trunk, where the impossible happens, they slowly fall for each other. When they are seperated, Jack Foley and Buddy plan to heist a millionaire's house where five million dollars in diamonds are kept. Karen, on the other hand, is attempting to bring Jack in, while at the same time falling in love with the convict.

Then the film puts the entire world on pause and focuses on Jack and Karen, in a scene cutting between a hotel room and a bar. The scene has an amazing hypnoticism, it truly takes you out of your chair and right into this situation. It wins with the dialogue: "It may have only happened once in your life", "What if you stopped" are such lines that are so beautifully presented.

As you can probably tell, I am bad at writing reviews about movies I love. "Out Of Sight" goes right up there with "The Truman Show" as the best movies of 1998. I have left SO much out, but I did that on purpose, because I want you, the reader, to get up out of your chair, out of the room, and into the theater to see this movie. Go past the Armageddon theater. Keep going. Slide past The X Files...there you go. You found the theater playing "Out Of Sight". Go on in, sit down, relax. Keep in mind you are seeing a good movie.

Grade: A

Tech Review

Picture: 5 A glorious looking picture that correctly presents the locales, whether it be sunny Florida or the snowy Detroit.

Sound: 4 The film kicks ass in DTS, surrounds are somewhat limited. The front channels are very well used, however. I notice a couple of split surrounds when Karen was using her gun early in the film. Altogether, a good soundtrack.

Photography: 4 The film nicely uses the 1.85:1 frame, the film appears to be wide, not matted. The photography uses the frame well, instead of cropping like so many films these days.

Length: 122 minutes. Rated R. Universal. jwhyte2@hotmail.com ICQ- 4339199.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
What we were expecting to see was a sexual thriller, But we were handed giant sized of a movie made for TV. Many story flaws. Little to none Special effects. A movie for George clooney's die hard fans only. And what about Jennifer Lopez? Well she should stick to serious acting instead of trying to sell her Sex appeal,because in our opinion she is a big let-down. FATman and baldGUY

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This is definetly one of the funnier and original movies I've seen in a long time. Movies nowadays don't care about their characters and insult the intelligence of the viewer. "Out of Sight" is somewhat similar to "Pulp Fiction", as in terms of structure and charcters. But this is not a retread or remake. The dialouge is great, and the performances are hilarious. Clooney, Lopez and Rhames will most likely get Oscar Nominations (or at least Golden Globes). The best part about the film is that it doesn't seem to try to force the plot, and at times, if pushes it aside for GREAT dialouge about anything, movies sex. George Clooney shows some of the promise he showed in "From Dusk Till Dawn" before nearly falling off the face of the earth with "Batman & Robin". Lopez continues to get better, and Rhames is just as astounding. Here is a guy who can play any role in a movie. Bottom line: you'll get a crime movie alright, and a heck of a lot more.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This is a fun movie to see. Lots of laughs and comedy, as well as action. There are no special effects. This movie was just good acting with a plot.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
George Clooney and Jennifer Lopez star in this movie about a bank robber, Jack Foley, who becomes attracted to a Federal Marshal, Karen Sisco, during a prison break. And that attraction is more than a little mutual.

I thought this movie was well made. The story didn't follow a linear time line but yet was easy to follow. The supporting cast including Dennis Farina as Karen's father and Albert Brooks wealthy businessman who was in prison with Jack for corporate fraud was very interesting and fun to watch. This is primarily due to the dialog. It reminded me of "Get Shorty" another movie that was similar to this one. The final reason I like this movie was the ending. I found the ending satisfying but it stray into the realm of "Yeah Right". But that I mean when a producer of a makes a feel good ending that doesn't make sense for the characters that have been portrayed in the movie. This movie doesn't do that.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I was only mildly entertained by this one. Barely. I don't even think it rates as a budget movie.


Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Out of Sight.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.