The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, June 16th, 1978

Directed by Randal Kleiser

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Grease
Academy Award® Nominee
Good girl Sandy and greaser Danny enjoy a summer romance, but when they discover they're in the same high school, will their romance survive the pressure?  View more >

PG

Starring John Travolta, Olivia Newton-John, Stockard Channing...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Grease.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by T Jan 25, 2000

You have got to see this movie. I haven't seen it since it's been re-released but I've seen the original too many times to count. It's a classic. Anyone who hasn't seen it needs to now! It's got possibly some of the best music in it and the dancing is also great. If you've seen the movie, you should try and see it on Broadway. It comes to life even more than in the movie and you wish you were on stage too. Olivia Newton-John and John Travolta were great just as they are still now. If you haven't seen it, go right now!!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Susan Jan 25, 2000

It is my hope that GREASE will not be the ONLY movie they'll bring back to the big screen because I could stand to see WIZARD OF OZ, GHANDI, DR. ZHIVAGO and even LAWRENCE OF ARABIA re-leased for that "embraced in the cinema darkness" experience.

And GREASE will offer no philosophical answers to some cosmic question you may have pondered ... and nearly every critic who has commented on the "age" of these high schoolers are right! they look a little old for high school ...

But is it fun? Yes. Will you be humming when you leave the theatre? In all likelihood, yes. Is John Travolta watchable? Oh, yes ...

If entertainment must do the first eight letters of the word, entertain, GREASE meets the requirement. But if you want to see a vintage walk of an actor who probably had no idea what he was going to go through to become the star he is today, rent SATURDAY NIGHT FEVER and don't leave the room until "Stayin' Alive" by the Bee Gees end - that's a walk!

When my children were pre-schoolers 20 years ago, we Moms and Dads in our neighborhood dressed up in poodle skirts and sunglasses and went hoarse singing songs from GREASE at what we dubbed the GREASE HALLOWEEN PARTY. I remember laughing myself silly watching fellow parents and all our small children trying the "hand jive." FUN? Yes, yes, yes ... go see it on the big screen.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by lauren Jan 25, 2000

I think this movie is awesome! It is kinda a chic flic but it is kool.

 

[--- Good ---]by Jessica Jan 25, 2000

I thought "Grease" was a good movie, but not the best. I probably am saying this because I bought it about 1 year ago, and have seen it too many times. The storyline is great, girl and boy like each other, they get separated, they get back together, you get the picture. I think Sandy (Olivia Newton John) and Danny (John Travolta) were a match made in heaven, but high school life, being full of everyday pressures, as well as Sandy and Danny being so different, kept them apart. The movie has a lesson, though. If you really like someone, even if you're REALLY different, you can find a way to be together.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jenny Jan 25, 2000

I would have to say grease is the best movie of it's time and I am so glad it has come back out I love the movie I say you should go out and see this movie right now do not miss this one its a very good one thay don't make movies like this anymore.

I would give it **** (4 STARS)

WHY ARE YOU STILL HERE GO SEE IT

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Archcritic Jan 25, 2000

While driving in my car, I heard the news of Grease's return to the big screen. I promptly jerked the steering wheel to the right and into a bridge embankment, I must have cleared ten feet before my car was sheared in two by the crossing freight train.

Enough is enough, this movie is far to over played. For years television, radio, newspapers the really annoying group girls that used to be on your home town block have been singing and singing for no reason those sadistic chants, that the film industry has deemed as classics. Nothing changed from the time you saw it yesterday on USA Saturday afternoon movies, until now. The movie doesn't have added creatures and previously cut scenes. The only thing different is that the picture and sound my have been enhanced a little A.K.A. turned up to a really wicked volume level. It's no different if you were to buy a copy of the movie at Walmart in the $0.99 movie bin. Pleae for your childrens sake stop this destructive cycle, make a difference say "no" to Grease in the intrest of public health and safety.

 

[--- Good ---]by Shauna Braun Jan 25, 2000

Grease
good
I realy liked it and I think other people would like it to. Shauna Braun

 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberFeb 6, 2002

"Grease" is the word for classic 1978 film which is based on the broadway musical. Danny Zuko (John Travolta) and Sandy (Olivia Newton-John) had a romanmtic relationship over the summer, now that school's started again they met again.

"Grease" is not a film about the wacky going-ons at Rydell High, it could be a film about anyone's high school experience. It's like looking a your yearbook. There are plenty of memorable songs, but my favorite is Newton-John's "Hopelessly Devoted To You."

There are memorable characters and memorable scenes. One of them is a dancing contest which pits student against student in a dance-off. A great scene. "Grease" was released the same year I graduated from high school. That movie had reminded of the good times instead of the bad. To me, that what "Grease" is all about.  

[--- See Now! ---]by The Awesome Jul 14, 2009

this is an amazing movie. i would recommend it for pre-teens thru adults. any younger i think they would hate it adn not understand it. LOVED IT!! i own this and its amazing also i own the cd. great movie go watch it. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.