The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, March 19th, 1999

Directed by Bronwen Hughes
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:42

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Forces of Nature
Ben (Ben Affleck) has two days to get from New York to Savannah for his wedding to Bridget (Maura Tierney). He has everything under control until an eccentric young woman named Sarah (Sandra Bullock)...  View more >

PG-13
Mild profanity, sexual themes

Starring Sandra Bullock, Ben Affleck, Maura Tierney...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  1 13 See Now! Percent
Good  3 38 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 13 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  3 38 Stay Away! Percent
8 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Forces of Nature.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Having been a long time fan of Sandra Bullock, and having been enticed by the movie trailer and the opportunity to watch Blythe Danner, I was truly surprised at how unrelentingly bad this movie is. At one point a character muses that, in this technologically advanced age in which we live, how is it possible for someone to take such a long time to arrive at their destination, or words to that effect. Surely, the script must have been written before filming began; so, the question that begs to be asked is why didn't someone take notice of that fact? I would never make light of aircraft difficulties, nor would I trivialize someone's dismay, discomfort, or travails over any of life's detours or misfortunes, but the problems encountered in this film do not ever seem sufficient to provoke the slogging, childish, whining response exhibited. Nor, is it possible to truly empathize with their misadventures, making it impossible to care what eventually may or may not happen to them. Fortunately the popcorn was good, the theater was comfortable and my companion and I had nothing better to do that afternoon, so we stayed. But, the next time that I am bushwacked in this manner, I'm asking for my money back

[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJan 25, 2000
The late 1980's brought us the John Candy and Steve Martin traveling picture, "<A HREF="http://us.imdb.com/Title?Planes,+Trains+%26+Automobiles+(1987)">Planes, Trains & Automobiles</A>", the late 90's brings us the same style of picture, this time with Ben Affleck and Sandra Bullock.

Ben (<A HREF="http://us.imdb.com/Name?Affleck,+Ben">Ben Affleck</A>) is set to be married to his fiance in Savannah Georgia in a couple of days. The trouble is, he is in New York and doesn't care to fly. He boards a plane, and is all set to kick his fear of flying when an incident sets him back.

So he and his row companion Sarah (<A HREF="http://us.imdb.com/Name?Bullock,+Sandra">Sandra Bullock</A>) from the aborted flight decide to travel by whatever means possible to Savannah GAtogether.

A hurricane is brewing off the coast of Georgia and threatens to put a damper on the outdoor wedding plans. Unfortunately a missing groom also adds to the problems.

Sarah and Ben start their journey riding along with an unknown man in a really small car. Knowing nothing about this man lands them in their first situation.....jail.

Their adventures together continue until the day of Ben's wedding when Ben needs to make a choice between the woman he was set to marry, and the person he has spent the past couple of days with.

The movie is sort of "formula", but has been updated for the 90's.

It's cute, and fairly enjoyable. While this isn't a movie you must run right out and see, it's enjoyable enough to spend an hour and 45 mins with.

Copyright 1999 - Ron Higgins
<I>No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.</I>

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I really enjoyed the movie Forces of Nature. I really like both of the main actors Sandra Bullock and Ben Affelck so that was already a plus. I found the film funny, happy and "feel good" though I was quite dissapointed with the ending. I would recomend seeing it to anyone enjoys a movie that is light hearted and entertaining.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
ehhh this movie kinda draged on...and...on the plot was lame and the movie was very very boring and should be left to the ben/sandra fans and no one else. I give this movie a 2/10

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
"Forces of Nature" main plot is Ben has 2 days to get from New York to Georgia to make it to his wedding with Bridget. But Ben is starting to get cold feet. And nothing his family, friends, or complete strangers tell him about the life long commitment puts him at ease. To complicate matters nothing goes right on the journey to Georgia like "Planes, Trains, and Automobiles" and this is how he meets Sarah and fate seems to push them together in their travels.

I liked this movie. I thought the roles were well played by Sandra Bullock(Sarah) and Ben Affleck(Ben). But in all honesty this movie would play just as well on video. And not to give away the movie but I liked the way the movie ended and didn't walk away unsatisfied in that respect.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
First of all....I didn't like it. Forces of Nature does a few things for you...it forces you to ignore your natural tendency to fall asleep during a naturally boring film. The best way to describe this movie is to imagine yourself watching numerous special reports on the weather channel. The weather doesn't let up and you find yourself glued to this channel, not because you are interested or the TV is on the fritz, but rather that you have two broken legs and the remote is sitting on top of the TV and you can't reach it to change the channel. Before the day is through, you are sick of the weather and tired of looking at the same newscasters over and over. That is this film. I think that Sandra Bullock and Ben Affleck must have signed some sort of contract that required them to do a movie from the studio in exchange for getting a better movie in the future. This movie follows two people on their own "Trains, Planes, & Automobiles" trip across numerous states. Ben is trying to get to his wedding and Sandra is trying to get out of her marriage. The journey brings them quite close and only by sitting through the entire movie do you find out how it ends (because I am not going to tell you here). Bottom line....I think this is another film you can use to have some fun with your significant other, if they don't like it, you keep saying how great it was and that you can't wait to buy this film for your personal collection. Rating: 3 of 10.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie is great... i loved everything in it.. the romance.. feelings.. adventures.. actually everything.. Sandra Bullock was great.. she acted in a way which was natural to her.. but would be too weird for others.. they loved each other while they didn't expect that to be.. i loved the way they faced the different situations.. how they got together.. how they acted.. Sandra was a good mother although no one would admit that.. a good lover too if she could explain what's in her heart... all the feelings in this movie made me cry to death... not because i'm romantic.. but because of the romance, love, feelings and motherhood.. all of this.. i'd love to watch it again and again and again and again .... etc...

[--- Stay Away! ---]by VIP MemberJul 10, 2004
There's no chemistry between Sandra bullock and Ben Affleck in "Forces of nature" a film about the two taking the road from New York to Savannah before to beat a hurricane. there's nothing to like. The film could've have been made much better.



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.