The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, October 15th, 1999

Directed by David Fincher
Genre: Action
Running Time: 2:20

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Fight Club
Academy Award® Nominee
The mundane existence of a product liability evaluator and insomniac, who is addicted to self-help groups, is turned upside down when he meets a sado-masochistic anarchist who is secretly plotting to...  View more >

R
disturbing and graphic depiction of violent anti-social behavior, sexuality and language

Starring Brad Pitt, Edward Norton, Helena Bonham Carter...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  7 47 See Now! Percent
Good  3 20 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 13 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  3 20 Stay Away! Percent
15 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Fight Club.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
First rule of Fight Club: DO NOT SEE FIGHT CLUB.
Second rule of Fight Club: DO NOT SEE FIGHT CLUB.

This was a night wasted. Two hours of my life that I will never get back. I went with a large group of people of guys and girls, ages 18-20, and those of us who sat through the whole movie envied those who left early. I had heard good things about the movie, and assumed that a night spent with Edward Norton and Brad Pitt could not be a wasted one. The only thing in this movie that could posibly be considered worthwhile is Norton's performance as Jack. Brad Pitt simply plays a variation on the character he has played in every other movie, except in "Fight Club" he has been deprived of a nice wardrobe. (Interesting note: in a street scene, there is a movie marqee board advertising "Seven Years in Tibet" - another Pitt flick.) And Helena Bonham Carter should really stick to playing an ethereal beauty in period pieces, not the chain smoking thrift store queen she plays in "Fight Club."

All in all, if someone is holding a gun to your head and will pull the trigger unless you see "Fight Club" then by all means go. But under any other circumstances, STAY HOME!!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Well, for starters, this is the first movie in quite a while that just flat out floored me with its plot twists! The best since "Wild Things".

My wife and i went to see it, and i had to practically drag here there, but by the end of the movie she likes it too.

And neather of us saw any of it coming!

At first i thought it was just another mid-life crisis turns nasty movie, but i like the actors, and thought it might be good enuf to warent the money.

There is a lot more to it than that. This movie works on so many differant levels at the same time it is almost overwelming! and well worth seeing again just to catch all the stuff you missed the first itme. watch for the single frame cuts, they are a hoot!

All in all, one of the most unusuall, & interesting movies since "The Truman Show" and much less predictable. 4 out of 5 stars!!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Anyone who is male should go see this film. It's hard to believe that filmmakers can take what's collectively in our heads and hearts and put it up an screen for all to see, but there it is. I could relate more to characters in this film than in any other film I've ever seen. Even Brad Pitt is good, for crying out loud.

Maybe you could get just as much out of the film if you wait and rent it, but come on. Be aggressive. Be a MAN. See it NOW!

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
First of all...I truly hated it and yet liked it. Okay, I know you are wondering what kind of rating is that, but it is true. While I hated the film for it's violent content, I liked the quality of the story and the outstanding performances by Brad Pitt, Ed Norton, and Helena Bonham Carter. Any film that makes "Natural Born Killers" look like a Disney movie is a film that is truly not for everyone. My immediate reaction after seeing this film was that I would not encourage anyone to see this film, nor would I even want to review it for fear that it might spark someone to want to see it. I don't think I have ever seen a more violent movie nor do I ever want to see one. "Fight Club" is truly in a class by itself. It is a film that you would not want to take a date to, nor is it a film that will entertain you...I can't imagine someone running down to the local Blockbuster and picking it up for a quiet evening at home. I am not one for censorship nor am I one for banning a film, but I would seriously question the judgement of someone who viewed this film and considered it entertainment. The story centers around the relationship of two people, Pitt and Norton, and the enjoyment they get from beating the "heck" out of each other. They fight not for sport, but for the pure enjoyment they feel from the pain they inflict upon others and in return have inflicted upon them. Bottom line...I feel it's time we add another rating to our rating scale..."NRQ"..."No Redeeming Quality". This film has no redeeming qualities, is not entertaining, nor should anyone see it...but it definitely is one film like no other.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
THE FIRST RULE OF FIGHT CLUB: GO SEE THIS MOVIE RIGHT NOW!!!! THE SECOND RULE OF FIGHT CLUB: GO SEE THIS MOVIE RIGHT NOW!!!!

This is an excellent film. My boyfriend and I could not stop talking about it for days.

The movie reflected a great storyline along with excellent plot twists.

I'm a big fan of Edward Norton and he did not dissapoint me in this film.

See the film yourself and you will not be able to prove me wrong.

GO SEE FIGHT CLUB!!!! GO SEE FIGHT CLUB!!!! GO SEE FIGHT CLUB!!!!

Am I able to stop raving?

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
hey there little boys and girls! this is adam stoneface stunner again with your review on Fight Club. Jeez i really liked it. It was real neat and Brad Pitt made my dad get real uncomfortable and he wiggling around and breathing real hard during the movie. I think that's because Brad Pitts so cool. But it is a real great movie and even though i cut from jv baseball i still think brad pitt will like me. Go see the movie-it 's a 10!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This is not a movie for the conformist. This is not a movie for joe six pack that makes his measly earnings day in and day out just so he can go home and watch his 52" (charged on a VISA platinum), drink his skunk piss beer and go back to work with a big dumb smile on his face. This is not a movie for consumers, people who think they know what they want, but don't (much like the guy that likes and hates it above).

Who is this movie for? People who are sick of what this society stuffs down their throats day in and day out. People that aren't conformists or consumers. People who think for themselves instead of using an idiot box and the lamestream media to tell them what their own opinion is. Remember, the opposite of bravery is not cowardice - it is conformity. This movie might also shed a bit of light on what someone's boyfriend or brother or son (who is in the age range of 30) may indeed be feeling deep down inside.

The violence and fighting are an expression of freedom. Personal freedom. Do not be taken in by the idiots that rate this movie poorly because they have been sedated so heavily they really don't understand what it is about. If you would like to see a superbly acted movie, with incredible undertones and revelations about your freedom, this society and your life, see this movie. If you are brain dead and think the Backstreet Boys are a great musical group and you can't wait for the next James Bond or Star Wars (marketing and consumerism at it's pinnacle I must say) don't see this movie. You are already dead.

First rule of fightclub - you need a brain and individuality to figure out fightclub!

Second rule of fightclub - you need a brain and individuality to figure out fightclub!

Third rule of fightclub - If you do everything that others tell you or let others think for you, well...

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
The acting was superb. The story, original. I enjoyed this movie very much, although I can understand why some may not like it. Violence, blood -- might be too much for some viewers. But it is a great change-of-pace movies.

It started and ended great, but somewhere in the middle it trailed off a bit. Decide for yourself.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Wow. What a movie. This is a very original film with great acting and an interesting plot. It succeeds in being very funny and dramatic, as well as suspenseful. Weird ending...

My rating: A

[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberMay 30, 2001
"Fight Club" is violent, mean-spirited, but it's fun. This film is more that just men beating each other up, it represents the way of how men behaive, for good or bad, mostly bad. This film puts machoism on trial.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP MemberJul 21, 2003
Worth renting, especially since you can then go back and try and make sense of what you just saw.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Aug 31, 2007
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  May 29, 2010
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 29, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 9, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.