The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, May 12th, 2000

Directed by Nicholas Hytner

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Center Stage
A drama that follows the hopes and dreams of a tight-knit group of young dance students as they try to make a name for themselves and become stars in the fiercely competitive world of professional...  View more >

PG-13
language and some sensuality

Starring Peter Gallagher, Amanda Schull, Donna Murphy...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Center Stage.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by cat May 21, 2000

this movie was great it had surprises and over whemlming saings. It was asome so go see it! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Rachel May 25, 2000

I thought that CenterStage was great! The dancing was faboulus, and the music was great. It had a great plot, and the actors were great. A few shining stars will soon be discovered from this great movie.

This is now one of my favorite movies, so if you haven't seen it you should get going! 

[--- See Now! ---]by clairebear May 28, 2000

"Center Stage" was the best movie I have seen in a looooong time.

It totally inspires you to reach for your dreams, do what you want, and have fun while doing it.

The whole plot line was good, interesting, and defintely funny. I, personally, don't know that much about dancing, but it was still a very interesting and good movie for me.

The plot is about a girl named Jodie who is just starting the year at a major ballet academy. She realizes that dancing is hard work, and getting into "the business" is going to be harder than she thought. She meets two young men there, both of whom are terrific dancers. From there she, "gets to know" both of them, if you know what I mean, and has her heart broken by one. Jodie learns much from these two, such as, sticking to what you like, not giving up, and most of all, having fun and enjoying what you are doing.

I would reccomend this movie to anyone, even if you are not a big dance fan.

It is definately worthwhile seeing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

[--- See Now! ---]by netaddict Jun 4, 2000

this movie was so much better than i had expected! i went in expecting an okay movie, but i was very pleased with what i saw. it was like a '"dirty dancing" on ballet' type movie for this era.

anyway, the movie was so good that i've already seen it twice, and i'll probably see it again before it leaves the theatres. even if you're not a ballet fan (which i am not) you will still enjoy this movie. see it now!! 

[--- See Now! ---]by sandy interrante Jun 18, 2000

The plot of the movie, which will delight adolescents, is kind of typical of young people grouped together in such a tight, competitive atmosphere. However, the scenes from the classroom and especially the final performance are charged with energy.

I think it's important that this film is seen by someone who does understand and appreciate dance. Sometimes it is unfair where it comes down to the size of the feet, short arms, or general unattractiveness. But that's the arrogance of the big dance world.

It should be seen on the big screen because alot of the sweeping movement of dance will be lost on video tape.  

[--- See Now! ---]by KC Aug 20, 2000

"center stange" was an excellcent movie! I gave this a "must see" because its exactly what it is.

It was alot of dancing, alot of things to keep you interested and of course the love story. Its sorta like that movies from the 80's...Fame? but I see the definate differances.  

[--- See Now! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberMay 12, 2003

We haven't had a ballet movie since "The Turning Point," and I guess "Center Stage" is where we began. The film is the story of ballet wannabes as they try out to see who can reach to top. There are several plotlines in the movie, but I like the music score both classical and pop. "Center Stage" is must-see. A great dance movie that you can't pass up. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.