The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, October 2nd, 1998

Directed by Eric Darnell
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:23

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Antz
Animated feature about a timid, neurotic worker ant (voiced by Woody Allen). He meets Ant Princess Bala (Sharon Stone) and impersonates an army-ant friend to meet her again, only to end up in an ant...  View more >

PG
Mild profanity, insect violence

Starring Woody Allen, Sharon Stone, Gene Hackman...  View more >

Another quality animated feature from a non-Disney studio, beating Disney's A Bug's Life to the theaters by over a month.
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  17 81 See Now! Percent
Good  2 10 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  2 10 Stay Away! Percent
21 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Antz.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Excellent film! The storyline was very original and well thought out. Not only is this movie full of action, but also contains a lot of morals and lessons to be learned. Not until after seeing this movie will you truely realize the significance of a world much smaller than ours. Not to mention the excellent computer animation, quite a step above toy story. Great job guys! I really loved it!

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
As you all probably know "Antz" is a computer animated feature. The star is an ant called Z, voiced by Woody Allen, who doesn't like feeling insignificant. Unfortunately he lives in a world where individuals are considered insignificant and "The Colony" is what is important and everyone has their role to perform.

This movie is well made and visually appealing. The other voices include Sharon Stone and Sylvester Stallone as the Princess Z falls for and his best friend. The voices are all well cast and the characters are well developed. One thing parents may want to note is this movie has some swearing that Disney animation doesn't have. This while extremely mild compared to regular movies is noticable since this film is intended to have young children in the audience. This is a minor criticism, however, and all in all I liked this movie a lot.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
I'm submitting this review because I have discovered that you can't rely on the clerks selling tickets to tell you whether a movie is suitable for small children or not.

LITTLE KID REVIEW: ANTZ: PG

I took my 3-year old daughter to see Antz yesterday. I tend to be very protective of my kids, and I was very pleased with this film. The best part, of course, is that it lures everyone in, regardless of who you are, because it offers something that everyone likes: A combination of intelligent dialogue, social relevance, and attention-grabbing visuals.

The whole movie is done from the perspective of an individual ant, and each ant has a unique personality and subtle differences. Together, they form a colony. The movie shows how individualism rewards society, and pulls people together.

It also, suprisingly, makes family values cool, identifies with an individual under scrutiny, and shows that standing up for what you believe in makes any journey worthwhile.

This is not another "Small Soldiers." This is not a club-wielding puppet show, it's a small world where heroes are rewarded, people act out of dedication (and love), and even the "bad guys" have a sense of honor.

The movie is not without conflict, and is certainly strange in parts (let's face it, we're talking about ants here, not people) but the messages come through loud and clear.

For those of you thinking, "If it's got good values and it's packed with intellectualism it doesn't sound like fun," hear me now: it's as entertaining as any movie made this year, and I do mean 'any'.

See it in a theater with great sound. You will be rewarded during "the shoe scene." The visuals are so impressive it makes me want to buy stock in the production company, and the cast of character voices is probably the best ever assembled.

Although the termite scene is a little scary, it's not really frightening, and it ends quickly. The scariest part of the movie is that it parallels life. The villians in the movie are real: People who try to tell you that you'll never amount to anything. And the ending is as American as apple pie, with a whole community working as a team to help each other.

OVERALL LITTLE KID RATING:(out of four)

Attention span: 4*
Language:3 1/2**
Violence: 3***
Values:3 1/2****
Previews:(4)*****

*It was nap time, and she was bright and alert (and silent!) through the whole movie. Total mesmerization.

**Be available to talk with your kids if they have questions about context.

***There are some fights (sigh), but good people don't start them, and the hero uses diologue to say that it's bad. Unfortunately, there is fighting in this film. Small children should be reminded that fighting is never a solution to a problem. This is why the movie is PG.

****It's not as squeaky clean as Madeline, but it's the kind of stuff I want my kids to watch. Maybe it's the world we live in, but I think this movie is a great example for any child.

*****I missed some of the previews, but I didn't see anything that warranted caution.

AS ALWAYS:

1. This is an individual opinion, it does not represent the views of any company, group, or organization.

2. I have only seen the movie once, and when you go to movies with kids, you are guaranteed to miss something.

3. Your opinions about what is suitable for your kids are always the most important. I'm only here to help.

4. I appreciate feedback, pro and con. If you have seen this film and you have little kids, please send your opinions to: uranium@cuttingedge.net.

Have fun, and don't forget the popcorn!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Antz (1998)

I've always been facinated by ants, those little brown bugs that can carry 50 times their own weight on their backs. This movie only makes me more facinated.

The animation is incredible in this movie. The animators managed to create an incredible environment, the inside of the colony. It's impossible to drink in all the details packed in one frame. This, backed up by a good story and great dialogue and acting, makes for a great movie.

The movie draws the spelling of its title from the main character, known only as Z (Woody Allen), a worker ant. On a typical night at the dance club after work, he meets a female ant, who, unbeknownst to him until later, is the Princess Bala (Sharon Stone), daughter of the colony's queen. Desperate to see her again, he trades places with his soldier ant friend Weaver (Sylvester Stallone). Then he discovers, a little late, that the colony is going to war.

Woody Allen is great as the voice of Z, managing to convey both bravery and paranoia. Christopher Walken delivers a good performance as Colonel Cutter, the right hand man of the film's vilain, General Mandible (Gene Hackman).

All in all, it is a great movie. See it, see it again, rent it when it comes out on video.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Antz (1998)

When an ant falls in love but is segregated from her because of classification. The ant, Z, then switches places with a soldier to get a glimpse of his love, Princess Bala, but instead is sent off to war against the termites. He finally gets a glimpse of the princess. But when the guards find out his classification, they threaten to arrest him! He falsely kidnaps the princess and they set out for the land Insectopia.

This is a great film. I first point out the animation, spectacular! It is a Toy Story type animation. The 3-d effect is so great especially with the millions of itsy-bitsy ants.

This is not a film for younger children.( 5 and younger). There is cussing. It is sort of funny , I mean ants cussing? Puh! Another thing that might be disturbing to younger children is the ant massacre. There are decapitated ants, ants being eaten, and spears sticking out of termites. Save yourselves!

I compare this animated movie to ''The Simpson's ''. Although, it isn't exactly the same, the similarities are clear.

I love this movie; it is a great family film for older children. Go see it now.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
ANTZ (1998) *** ½ out of 4

ANTZ is about a discouraged ant, Z (Woody Allen) trying to deal with his life as a worker. He meets the beautiful Princess Bala (Sharon Stone) and his life changes. Meanwhile, General Mandible (Gene Hackman) is plotting a sinister plan of taking over the colony, and they race against time to outdo each other.

The animation in this film is great. It's very intricate and smooth going. A lot of the scenes made me laugh out loud, and I wouldn't make any changes if I could. The landscape is incredible, like in the busy ant colony, you see thousands of ants working on it, and nothing seems out of place. The music was just right for most scenes -- mostly suspenseful. And the movie wasn't too long for little kids, only 77 minutes, but I wouldn't recommend taking any small children to see it because the war scenes would be a little too much for them. This is a hilarious film, so go see it!

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Antz (1998)

From the first scenes of the cavern where the ants carry on their busy lives, we see that Antz is a movie full of action and ideas. Too cerebral for young children, it has a pace and a charm that will attract everyone else. The film spends much of its 77 minutes looking at the worth of the individual and his place in society.

One indicator of popular culture in Antz is the struggle of the individual. Z, voiced by Woody Allen, plays the worker ant in analysis - just one item of Allen's schtick carried over into this, his first appearance in animation. Despite his small stature and relative shyness, Z carries through with actions that demonstrate his beliefs. From refusing to stomp mindlessly in a massive line dance, to leaving the colony at one point, Z proves himself the ultimate democratic insect. Viewers surely enjoy rooting for the underdog, and Z serves well in the role of an inconsequential creature acquiring a voice. The only trouble is that we have to keep our disbelief suspended throughout the non-stop anthropomorphism: isn't it natural for ants to work as a collective, for the good of the colony?

Class is another theme explored in Antz. Along with pulling for the weak, we also obsess over royalty - and this plot allows for a real queen (Anne Bancroft) and her daughter Princess Bala (Sharon Stone). The only plot better than the triumph of an underdog occurs when the underdog pursues the heart of a princess. Z is irresistible when he schemes to meet Bala a second time, and stumbles into trouble with the princess' fiancé, the square-jawed Mandible (Gene Hackman) and his henchman. Though outrageous, Z's plight is everyman's: a peasant worker aspiring to a higher station - soldier - and what's worse, daring to dance with the daughter of the colony's birth-mother. We love seeing it stuck to the powerful and arrogant.

Aside from the university, Hollywood is a staunch promoter of correctness. In Antz, Dreamworks SKG has succeeded in portraying a rather pluralistic society; according to this story, no one should be able to say, "All ants look the same." (We can transfer this sentiment to a political context, and see that we are being taught gentle lessons in tolerance.) In any case, directors Eric Darnell and Lawrence Guterman adopted techniques from conventional animation, and used much of the actor's personality and appearance in the cartoon image. These representations are delightful, as in the case of Christopher Walken's long face to match the suave and menacing voice of Colonel Cutter. Sylvester Stallone delivers a smart self-parody as Weaver, a huge soldier ant with a smallish head but a thorax like a Vick's cough drop. So these ants really look nothing like each other, and the animation imitates the differences of real life - whether in body type or racial features or philosophical views. Finally, we observe other species of insects, including a reunion of Jane Curtin and Dan Ackroyd, as a pair of snobby yellow jackets.

Layering conflict upon conflict, the film suggests that we like old and busy plots; here old does not mean stale, as the movie wraps the plot in new paper. Heavy-duty digitized animation is clearly another ware we pay our money for. Antz is just as well-plotted and -animated as Toy Story but not as nice to look at. Its duller earth-tones fit its serious themes, though, and the mood is lightened by humor and by occasional ventures outside the colony to a land known as "Insectopia."

Antz mirrors our society in the way it promotes the value and dignity of each person. In an increasingly technological world, viewers like to see positive portrayals of common people and of their roles. Love stories and laughs don't hurt, either.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This is a really good kids movie. If you are a babysitter and have to entertain the kids, take them to it! You like it too! It's really funny.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This is the best animation that I've ever seen! Furthermore, this is the most exciting film I've seen since RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK! Both movies are filled with incredible adventure and breathtaking action sequences. The 'magnifying glass', 'termite war', and 'human shoe' sequences were fabulous! Honestly, this move should have been released last summer, because it is the most exciting movie of the year! SEE IT NOW! IT IS SO GOOD! A+

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Every so often, a movie comes along that truly stunns you with its excitement and spectacle. Movies that capture your attention so completely that all you can say afterward is "WOW!". Movies like RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK, TERMINATOR 2, JURASSIC PARK, and STAR WARS. And now, ANTZ, the unlikliest of action blockbusters.

On the surface, all ANTZ consists of is Dreamworks' attempt to challenge Disney's domination of the children's film market. Let me get this out of the way: THIS IS NO KIDDIE FILM. THIS IS NOT TOY STORY or THE LION KING. Instead, it is a film that takes advantage of animation in order to create spectacular adventure.

The story is about a 'worker' ant (voiced by Woody Allen) who (in typical Allen fashion) whines about his life, consistently sharing his longing for a better place. He meets the princess ant, falls in love with her, and trades places with his soldier buddy to impress her. After an incredible ants vs. termites war scene (SAVING PRIVATE RYAN, eat your heart out), he meets her again and decides to kidnap her. This is where the real adventure begins: they struggle with elements of the human world (in the movie's most incredible scene, he tries to rescue her from underneath a human's shoe) and realize that the evil General Mandible is planning a form of ant genocide.

The script is certainly not aimed at children, with multiple vulgarities as well as refrences to sex and drugs. The voices mark some of Hollywood's most prominent talent, including Sylvester Stallone, Dan Aykroyd, and Gene Hackman.

What really makes this movie are the action sequences. It manages to capture the audience's suspense just as well as a live action film. The actions scenes are the best since Indiana Jones graced the big screen. Overall, it's one hell of a good time.

RATING: A (9.5 out of 10)

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This latest animation from Dreamworks was not only designed for the young, but it attracts the viewing for older movie viewers like me. Antz delivers steady animation effects, great actors like Sylvester Stalone and Sharon Stone. The story line is simple enough. One young worker Ant named "Z" starts a revolution in the Ant colony, kidnappes the queen's daughter, and saves the entire colony in a time span of only 83 minutes! I would definately recommend this film for anyone, of any age. If you're looking for a little excitment, romance, and ant-action, then see this film.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
How has computer animation progressed since Toy Story (my favorite movie of 1995)? Quite well, and Disney’s "bug" movie will have a lot to live up to if it is to be as good as Dreamworks’ is. The key is wonderful performances and right on casting, particularly Woody Allen as the lead ant, "Z." His antics and perfect interaction with the supporting characters make for a movie even more enjoyable by adults than by children: the political commentary Antz engages in is reminiscent of George Orwell's Animal Farm, one of my all time favorite books (All ants are created equal, but some are more equal than others?). Also, many, many of the jokes will fly over kids' heads). Production, humor, and animation: A +.

10-point scale rating: 9

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie was so cute! The animation was really realistic. The actual movie was extremely funny and had a good story line. This movie is good for anyone to see - from litle kids to adults. You should really go see this movie.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
A great movie for the whole family, It will make you laugh. Two thumbs up.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Why do we need all this computer animated rubbish when we could be sitting down to a nice horrer movie like scream 2

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
ANTZ PG 1998 My Rating: 9-10SEE NOW!!!!

When a lonely worker ant named Z (Woody Alln) dances with the lovely Princess Bala (Sharon Stone), he is so desperate to see her again, that he'll do anything. When he finds out that his best friend Weaver (Sylvester Stallone) is going to see the royal family of the colony, he begs him to take his place as a worker ant, and that Z will become a soldier ant, Weaver's normal job. But little does Z know that the one day he becomes the soldier, termites are waging a war, and he's in it. His new friend Barbadis (Danny Glover) helps him out. When Z returns as the only survivng ant, he's praized a hero. Suddenly, someone notices that Z is a worker, and he by accidently taking Bala down the trash chute. Lost outside of the colony, they struggle to live a better life.

This is one of the best movies in the theater this year. Filled with sight gags and action. The humor will be hard for little kids to understand, but Z's non-stop blabber mouth provides humor for kids 7 and above. Little children will enjoy the amazing animation effects that seem so realistic. Personally, this is the movie that is better suited for kids 7 and above. At this age, they will be able to understand it's profanity and won't be too frightened by it's some what intense war scene. Kids under 7 may not understand Allen's humor style, but the animation will get their attention. The movie contains creative ideas, like a worm rollar coaster in an apple. It has the voices of many familiar people, like Woody Allen, Sharon Stone, Sylvester Stallone, Danny Glover, Gene Hackman, and Christopher Walken. My opinion is that older kids will like it more than little kids. Adults will like how original it is, too. A great family movie!!!

Emilio Tostado

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Antz. Wow. I wasn't quite sure what to expect when I came in, but I came out giddy and wishing for more.

I don't like to beat the dead horse, but I really enjoyed this movie. The animation was stunning, and the plot was engrossing. It made me smile. I don't really like Woody Allen that much, but I enjoyed his character "Z" tremendously. Fantastic film.

see it now

--Ryan--

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Don't waste your money on a stupid "cartoon" like this! Get a life and watch a real movie like I still know what you did Last Summer. If your into ants, just go outside and watch the real thing . It costs less and might even be more exciting!! The whole concept of the movie is WRONG! Or shall I say Stupid. Well, just to be a help, don't watch this movie. Yeah it's got the graphics and animated characters, still, anything is better than this.From Beefy.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
Now that ANTZ will be available on video, all of you who thought you were too sophisticated to see it at the theater should swallow your pride and rent it to see in the comfort of your home. This is not a Disney film. Don't expect it to be. You've read enough reviews here to know the plot. But no review will prepare you for the visual graphics of this stylish, smartly done film. It will surprise you, delight you and make you wish it had a sequel. Finally, an animated feature for the adult! Or teen. This movie has it all. A great departure from your standard movie fare. Rent it or Buy it! Or if you can, rush to the nearest theatre that still may be showing it.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 25, 2000
This movie sports some of the most awesome animation I have ever seen. For years, Warner Bros and Touchtone have been trying desperately to capture the incredible animation of Disney, but Dreamworks is the company that finally got it right. One of my favorite sequences involved Z (the hero ant) rescuing the princess ant, who is stuck to gum under a kid's shoe, by swinging himself to her with the shoelace. It looked really cool. It was like something out of an Indiana Jones movie.

This movie also got a bunch of good actors to lend their voices, including Woody Allen, Stallone, Sharon Stone, Jennifer Lopez, Gene Hackman, Christopher Walken, Dan Akroyd, and Danny Glover. It also has great music, although their are no songs.

OVERALL, the best cartoon ever! Adults should see this movie. It has better action sequences than 90 percent of the blockbusters out there.

[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberJun 21, 2001
"Antz" is a major achievement in computer animation. The film centers on Z, an ant with plenty of problems, until he falls for a princess, and in a process he became a hero.

Z is voiced by Woody Allen, who brought his mannerism and his smarts to his character. The princess is played by Sharon Stone, who have never done a voiceover before. The same could be said for voiceovers being done by actors who never have done it before. Gene Hackman,Sylvester Stallone, Anne Bancroft, Jennifer Lopez, Christopher Walken, all never do voiceover before. Which made "Antz" such a special movie.



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.