The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 16th, 2011

Directed by Guy Ritchie

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows
In this follow-up to the immensely popular 2009 Academy Award nominated movie, Sherlock Holmes, we have Sherlock Holmes (Robert Downey Jr.), and his longtime trusted associate, Dr. Watson (Jude Law),...  View more >

PG-13
intense sequences of violence and action, and some drug material

Starring Robert Downey Jr., Jude Law, Noomi Rapace...  View more >

aka Sherlock Holmes 2
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by Sinamax Dec 19, 2011

Very good, fast paced, lots of action, funny, and a good CLEAN movie for all to see. 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberDec 22, 2011

A movie which is better than the first Sherlock Holmes movie. Robert Downey's Holmes makes Basil Ratborne's Holmes look like a 90 pound weaking. In this movie He and Watson are out to stop a major war from breaking out. If that's was a tall order for them, check out what Tom Cruise can do to stop a major war in "Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol." I love this movie. It has plenty of good special effects and I like the background of the film. Action pack and classy. "Sherlock Holmes:A Game of Shadows" has it all.  

[--- Good ---]by BigScreen Reader Dec 22, 2011

As good as the first movie. 

[--- Good ---]by Bud Dec 23, 2011
[--- Stay Away! ---]by BigScreen Reader Dec 28, 2011
[--- See Now! ---]by TIM Jan 13, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by escape2movies  Jan 14, 2012

Excellent sight and sound. Great cast, Robert Downey Jr. as the famous detective is outstanding. The movie has tons of action, a very good story, complex, but clear enough to follow. Very clever and witty. Doyle would have approved. This was quite a treat for the Holiday season, far more than I expected. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Siskel Ebertson Jan 16, 2012

YAWN, SNORE, snore some more. If you liked this movie then you:
A. were/are currently in a book club
B. wear cardigan sweaters and hushpuppies
C. have the most current phone, spend a lot of time on facebook posting to your "friends" and shave your chest. 

[--- Good ---]by BigScreen Reader Jan 17, 2012

I LOVED the first Sherlock Holmes movie. I thought this one was good, but a step or two down.

The Director was the same for both so it had the same feel to it. I don't think the characters were developed enough to believe that they had a relationship to each other. It was clever, but it seemed to ramble on with a fast pace that made it hard to savor.

Earlier Sherlock Holmes movies were very dry and took a long time to get to what was going one. This movie seemed a lot more like a cross between Sherlock Holmes and Indiana Jones. It seemed far-fetched and Sherlock and Watson did not seem to have the same chemistry as the first. The movie overstepped into being a little more pompous than I thought it should.

Jared Harris was not a great choice for Moriarty. I liked him in Mad Men, but he was not right for this part. Had they picked someone with some animation or charisma then that could have really boosted the story. He was just flat and unbelievable. Malcolm McDowell, Anthony Hopkins or even Michael Cain would have been nice choices, just to mention a few. I think the primary plot for Sherlock Holmes was somewhat wasted on this mediocre interaction. It needed to be more complex to hold it's own and call itself a Sherlock Holmes story.

It was nice to see this movie, but if you haven't seen it yet then you might as well wait for it to come out later on DVD. 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by bryteyes4 Feb 24, 2012

The beginning was stupid and very hard to follow, the middle was more fun and wasn't too bad and the ending was very boring! 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by jojo Mar 10, 2012

very fast moving..hard to follow at times...messy.. I would not view again..boring at times too. I enjoyed the 1st movie more..to the point I would view the 1st movie again. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by wetback39906 Jul 9, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.