The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

© Twentieth Century Fox

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 18th, 2009

Directed by James Cameron

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Avatar 3D
Academy Award® Winner
"Avatar" is the story of an ex-Marine who finds himself thrust into hostilities on an alien planet filled with exotic life forms. As an Avatar, a human mind in an alien body, he finds himself torn...  View more >

PG-13
intense epic battle sequences and warfare, sensuality, language and some smoking

Starring Sam Worthington, Zoe Saldana, Stephen Lang...  View more >

Academy Award® winner for:
* Art Direction
* Cinematography
* Visual Effects

Academy Award® nominated for:
* Art...
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Avatar 3D.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by Chris Dec 21, 2009
[--- See Now! ---]by Glen Kimberley Dec 26, 2009

A truly wonderful movie.

Believe ALL the hype and go see this in 3D. James Cameron really does deliver yet again with a good story, characters you care about, plenty of action and a world you will never forget.

I will be seeing this again before it finishes it's cinematic run and I'll be watching it in 3D again. At the IMAX next time though.

Go see it!

5/5 

[--- See Now! ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberDec 31, 2009

I went into this movie with pretty high expectations. Even ignoring the pre-release hype that 20th Century Fox was generating, it was hard not to have elevated expectations based on the positive reviews I had been hearing from friends and even those in the industry. That's usually a mistake, as most movies do not live up to their hype.

This is the first fully 3D movie that I have seen using Digital Cinema projection as the source, and I was concerned not only about the story being good, but also how I would feel about wearing 3D glasses for almost 3 hours. Would 3D be a nearly useless gimmick, like I have seen in the past?

While not holding up to level of comments like "it changed my life" it definitely was a very good movie. The 3D effects were subtle most of the time, with a few "wow" instances that mainly involved particles or animals floating in mid-air between the viewer and the main character in a scene. I found the characters very engrossing and your sympathies definitely rested with the native people whose world was being turned upside down.

Avatar is very similar to Dances with Wolves, in that you have a soldier that immerses himself into the culture of the native people, and ends up fighting for them when the military brings its force down upon them.

While the movie is two hours and 40 minutes long, it never dragged. Perhaps there were a few scenes that could have been excised for time considerations, there weren't any that were obviously getting in the way of the flow of the story.

I'm not one to repeat viewings in the movie theater, but I think I'll go back and see this one again. I'm curious to see it in the IMAX (mini-MAX is the only choice in Milwaukee), and I would also like to see at least a little bit of it in 2D to see if the visuals are still appealing when not leaning on the wizardry of 3D. 

[--- See Now! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJan 6, 2010

Director/Write James Cameron has taken the science fiction gerne to a whole new level. the film "Avatar" is more than just a science fiction movie or a 3D event. it's a movie that will have people talking for years to come. I saw the movie in 3D and I was blown away by the experience. I love the plants and the animals that live on that planet. I also love the planet structure and how the Na'vi tribe had lived. The conflict with the people of Pandora lives within the planet the rare mental what cost thousand of dollars on the market. so solders are sent there to get rid of the tribes and the mine the mental. One soldier in a wheelchair was given the experience of walking again as his body exchange with a Na'vi warrior and learn their ways. that part of the movie I love. Of the cast in the movie, the one that i like is Michelle Rodriguez. It's nice to see her on the big screen again. I saw the movie in 3D and if you saw the movie in 2D, that's fine too. I urged you to see 'Avatar" twice, once in 3D and the other in 2D. Something to do during the winter.  

[--- See Now! ---]by sarah Jan 7, 2010

WOW!!!! 

[--- See Now! ---]by BAMFRA Jan 8, 2010

This movie is beautiful. It just floors me how far this technology has come from Beowulf, last year. I walked out that one thinking that it wasn't ready yet, but Avatar convinced me. It was so life like and realistic, and everything had a sense of weight that can be lacking with CGI creations. Everything felt like it was on screen, that it was there on a set, not created on a computer. The movements were extremely realistic, down to subtle facial expressions.

The preformances by the actors were all solid, but Zoe Saldana deserves the most credit. An outstanding performance it what could be a very demanding role. She was strong, powerful, emotional and sexy. She, more then any other actor, made me forget that they were almost pure CGI.

The story. Yes, there are elements that have been done before, yes it was a bit cliched, but none the less, it drew me in. I was invested in characters and the outcome. I was never bored, and more importantly, never drawn out of the world.

I think that's the biggest accomplishment of this movie. There were never any moments were the CGI, or the acting, or the story telling knocked me out of the story. Which is difficult for a movie like this. But I was totally immersed in the world and the movie from start to finish. Outstanding movie.

I will say that I actually preferred the 2D to the 3D. Some of the images in 3D were blurred slightly, and the images didn't seem as vibrant. The 3D was good, but I preferred the 2D image quality. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Dean Berglund Jan 9, 2010

Avatar 3D has to be the best movie I've seen in my life. All I can say is WOW! The 3D effects and Graphics were stunning to say the least. 

[--- See Now! ---]by BigScreen Reader Jan 14, 2010
[--- See Now! ---]by Mark Jan 22, 2010
[--- See Now! ---]by Tom K Feb 2, 2010

Awesome, totally awesome. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Moose Feb 5, 2010

can you say Oscars? Forget the politics and enjoy the special effects. WOW 

[--- See Now! ---]by vmaxx Mar 4, 2010

awesome... 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.