The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, May 4th, 2012

Directed by Joss Whedon
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 2:22

Share This Page

Add to FacebookSave to Google
Marvel's The Avengers
Academy Award® Nominee
The Super Hero team up of a lifetime, featuring iconic Marvel Super Heroes Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Thor, Captain America, Hawkeye and Black Widow. When an unexpected enemy emerges that...  View more >

PG-13
intense sequences of sci-fi violence and action throughout, and a mild drug reference

Starring Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans, Mark Ruffalo...  View more >

Academy Award® nominee for:
* Visual Effects
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  15 71 See Now! Percent
Good  5 24 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 5 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
21 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by   May 7, 2012
The Avengers did not disappoint. I thought it was everything I was hoping that it would be. Each of the character's individual stories were woven together very well to make them the team that they became.

I'm glad the movie was longer because it allowed for some necessary character and plot development that made the whole thing work better. I liked how the heroes dealt with both conflict amongst themselves as well as with their foes. Loki was an impressive villain.

If there was one drawback it was when the larger battle happens later in the movie and a generous amount of CGI was used for the enemy forces. It was well done, but the movie shifts a bit at that point. It all comes around well though and Mr. Whedon earned another big feather for his cap.

I loved this movie! You have to see this on the big screen at least once because of all of the action scenes. Very impressive! Thank you.
[--- See Now! ---]by   May 7, 2012
This is about the best movie you'll probably see all summer. It lives up to it's hype. I was hoping it would be a longer movie as all these super hero movies tent to be just over and hour and this one is over 2 hours which helps the plot develop.

And there are some good laughs along the was due to the type of characters involved. And of course lots of action. Some may complain of the CGI, but without it, you couldn't have the great special effects that this movie presents.
[--- See Now! ---]by   May 8, 2012
Great movie and the action was awesome...
[--- See Now! ---]by   May 8, 2012
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member May 8, 2012
'Marvel's The Avengers" is a movie worthy of mention because how can you get at least six superheroes in the same movie? Not easy, but it's worth the payoff. The Avengers came from the mind of Stan Lee who may have created The Avengers as Marvel's answer to DC's The Justice League. Of the six, three of them has their start in a comic called Tales of Suspense with Captain America getting a restart. Not bad for a title that started out as a horror comic in the 1950's. The Avengers were banded by Nick Fury who has been talk of a Avengers for many years is such titles as "Iron Man" and "Thor." The villain Loki is no pushover villain. He's a villain for one reason and oner reason only to destroy the world. He and his ary of darkness in one scene has turned New York City into a battle zone. I like that scene where the Avengers get together to kick butt just to save mankind. What I liike in the movie that the heroes have great chemistry. This is probaby the coolest superhero movie ever. But don't take my word for it. Go see it. Oh yes, my favorite superhero is tghe Black Widow, played by Scarlett Johansson. I'm glad they added a woman to the group.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   May 9, 2012
Hate to be buzz kill but I was underwhelmed by this movie. The story was weak and the action became tiresome after a while. And it made me not want to see Battleship which is coming soon as that movie looks like the same action scenes as this movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by   May 11, 2012
Easily the best movie of the year so far. Joss Whedon is a master and given an opportunity to shine, he excels, at the top of his game. Quite possibly the perfect summer movie.
[--- Good ---]by   May 12, 2012
Todays movie special effects are awesome and they're needed with movies like this that let's face it rely on the special effects to sell the movie.

I think I liked the main characters individual movies more than I liked them all together in this movie. The Hulk sad to say is still missing the target big time. It would be nice if they could find another guy like Lou Ferrigno to play the Hulk because I'm just not buying the computer generated Hulk. The original tv series Hulk is better than any computer generated one I've seen lately.

Other than that I can't complain about this movie too much. Some new characters are added while one of the favorites meets an untimely end... I wouldn't call this a must see movie but it's good enough for date night.
[--- See Now! ---]by   May 12, 2012
Its a great movie and it has alot of action I just loved it.
[--- See Now! ---]by   May 13, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by   May 18, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by   May 18, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by   May 20, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member May 21, 2012
The best superhero movie ever made. Let's put it this way: the clapping was loud at the end, both times I went to go see it, and the laughing at times still obscured some of the dialogue. This may be the best movie of the summer. If it isn't, we're in for one helluva summer.

Every aspect was good, from the special effects, to the acting. The humor was perfect: subtle, perfectly timed. The story was amazing, the characters all flawed and interesting, and the 3D was not gimmicky. I've seen it twice - in 3D and 2D and this is one of the few times I think it actually worked better in 3D (like Avatar did - it added the dimension without being annoying and hurting the eyes). Loved it, loved it, loved it!
[--- Good ---]by   May 23, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 1, 2012
[--- Good ---]by   Jul 2, 2012
[--- Good ---]by   Jul 7, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 13, 2012
I'd say that was the best movie I've ever seen.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Sep 20, 2012
It makes perfect sense to use CGI to create The Hulk. No one is big enough to play a Hulk-Sized Hulk. This movie had perfect casting and writing for each character.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Mar 2, 2015
This movie can cater to all ages (provided you are above 13)! I saw it multiple times and it never fails to make me laugh and whisk me away to the world of superheroes.

The interaction between characters is priceless and the humor and action mixed in make it to be a very good movie.

The plot line is strong and the action is not so intense that one cannot handle it.

It is a very good party movie as it caters to many people who favor different genres. I would definitely suggest getting this movie on DVD?Blu-Ray as well as seeing it in theaters

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Marvel's The Avengers.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2015, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook