The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

© 2009 Paramount Pictures All Rights Reserved

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, February 19th, 2010

Directed by Martin Scorsese

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Shutter Island
Two U.S. marshals are summoned to a remote and barren island off the coast of Massachusetts to investigate the mysterious disappearance of a murderess from the island's fortress-like hospital for the...  View more >

R
disturbing violent content, language and some nudity

Starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Ruffalo, Ben Kingsley...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Shutter Island.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by Sinamax Feb 22, 2010

I really don't like to give a wait for the rental rating to any picture unless it really earns it. For me this was close. Good at times, thrilling at times, and ready to walk out at times.I am not a big fan of flashbacks, especially every couple of minutes through a film, and this one has a lot of them. 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberFeb 23, 2010

A scary thriller by director Martin Scorsese, "Shutter Island" is terryflying in every way. I found this film to be scary right up until the final credits. Leonardo DiCaprio and Mark Ruffalo arrived at the island ti investigate the disappearance of a patient from the Hospital. by the time they arrive on the island, the movie starts to get weird and keeps getting weirdier. this is a first-cllass thriller at it's best. the film was suppose to be release in October, but push back the Febuary 2010 because of fianical problems. It took a four-month wait and it's worth the wait. Besides DiCapiro, I like the performance of Michelle Williams as the murdered wife of DiCaprio. I can't give away the end. You just have to see for youself. The film has twist and turns and you be glad you went along for the ride.  

[--- See Now! ---]by BAMFRA Feb 27, 2010

Well made, well acted movie. Holds very true to the novel, if you liked the book, you'll like the movie. 

[--- Good ---]by Older n Wiser now Feb 27, 2010

I have to agree with Sinamax. Had some slow spots. Leonardo DiCaprio was very intence and held your attention.

Only IF you are wanting to see a movie in this poor weather then go to Shutter and Flashback Island.

Definently worth renting when it comes out to video.

At a Matanee price it was worth it. But bring your own popcorn so you don't over spend. :) 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by garystan Mar 11, 2010

Flashbacks galore and disjointed,... 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Tom K Mar 16, 2010

Schwang, wang, wang, boring movie. Because of the big names involved in this, it's a mega-dog. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.