The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, January 6th, 2006

Directed by Ang Lee
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 2:14

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Brokeback Mountain
Academy Award® Winner
Set against the sweeping vistas of Wyoming and Texas is this story of two young men - a ranch-hand and a rodeo cowboy - who meet in the summer of 1963, and unexpectedly forge a lifelong connection,...  View more >

R
sexuality, nudity, language and some violence

Starring Jake Gyllenhaal, Heath Ledger, Michelle Williams...  View more >

Oscar Winner for Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures (Original Score), Adapted Screenplay, Achievement in Directing

Oscar-nominated...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  11 85 See Now! Percent
Good  1 8 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 8 Stay Away! Percent
13 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 27, 2005
It's too bad that a lot of people are going to wind up calling this the "gay cowboy" movie. That's likely to happen because in the U.S. we go to such great lengths to separate spirituality & sexuality. Or, maybe I should say, this movie challenges us with the possibility that "love" exists outside of some of our narrow categories, such as "only in marriage" or "only in Christian marriage."

If love is about being consciously in relationship to another human being--and I'm not limiting my definition of love to sexual intimacy--then this was one powerful movie in my life. Even though I cannot relate myself entirely to the physical expression of love between these two men, I can spiritually relate to it. This is one powerful movie when in comes to exploring compromises, confusions, and losses in life.

If you want to see/hear a real story which shares the joys & sorrows of just being a human being trying to make sense of daily living, then I highly recommend "Brokeback Mountain." If, on the other hand, you are someone who is highly offended by men making physical love to other men, then I think you would have a lot of trouble with this storyline.

There's nothing so graphic in it that it should really be all that offensive, but if you believe homosexuals can never truly be in love with one another, this is a movie that will challenge your assumptions and be a VERY unsettling memory that will keep you thinking about it for days. I think it's a great movie because it explores a storyline that I've never seen/heard treated in this way before. Powerful stuff! View it at your own risk! But I liked the movie. It's very well made. And, it makes you think about stuff you probably would rather not have to think about.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 29, 2005
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 4, 2006
A MUST SEE!!! I saw this movie 5 days ago and still have it on my mind. Regardless of whether you're gay or not, you'll love this movie. Definitely one of the greatest love stories ever told on film.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 6, 2006
All the previews fail to mention one important thing that could make the difference as to whether someone would pay to see this movie or not, and that is what "kind" of love is between these two men.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 7, 2006
This is, by far, one of the best movies I've seen. It is beautiful and moving--a true masterpiece!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 15, 2006
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 17, 2006
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 18, 2006
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberJan 26, 2006
A sweeping moving love story between two rancher hands. but it not you everyday love story. It had a twist. It's between two men. But that's okay, it's still a memorable love story directed by Ang Lee. His best film of his career. Not only do I love the story, I love the acting, but I also love the music score that is turly moving. A lot of people are calling this movie," a date movie." When "the Fox" was releashed in way back in 1968, it was anything but a date movie. But since then, there are plenty of Gay-theme movies that stood the test of time. "Brokeback Mountain" is one of those special movies that will come along that will have you thinking and feeling for the characters. Once again the movie to see is "Brokeback Mountain."
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 31, 2006
At the end of the 1942 movie “Casablanca”, Rick (Humphrey Bogart) and Ilsa (Ingrid Bergman) give each other one last look, Ilsa, teary-eyed, and Rick, hardened and tough. It is heart-wrenching: the world had conspired to keep these two apart. And while they “always had Paris”, you know there could have – should have – been more. Sixty-four years after Rick and Ilsa, comes another heart-breaker, the world again conspiring against two people you just know should be together. Teary-eyed Jack Twist (Jake Gyllenhaal) and hardened Ennis Del Mar (Heath Ledger) will always have “Brokeback Mountain” but are denied more. Each time Jack and Ennis separate it is like the breaking apart of some whole into shattered pieces.

The men meet while herding sheep on the mountainside during the summer of 1963, thrown together by chance from their own lonely, bleak lives. Director Ang Lee visually contrasts the roles the men think they must live with the reality they want but cannot lead. They marry and have children but everything about that part of their lives is dry and empty – as if tumbleweeds were howling down dust-strewn pathways of the western towns which they are forced by fate to call home. Only when they are together, during the regular hunting and fishing trips these men take together over the course of 20 years, do you see life and growth and hope -- looming mountains, flowing streams, tall lush-green trees. The difference between the claustrophobic little apartment Ennis and family share is in direct opposition to the full vistas of the open range; Jack’s need-filled home-life is stark and sad, released only during the visits with the man he always calls “my friend”. Ennis himself is needful and empty and one wants to cry with his loneliness, only to watch his fulfillment when he’s with Jack. Everything at home is dark; on the mountain even the late-summer snow is joyful and playful. Jack and Ennis individually are seeking and lost; together they are some “One” that more than the individual parts. These two men’s very souls are entwined, fitting together as comfortably as two shirts, one hung inside the other on the same hanger.

“This thing [that] grabs hold” of them, as Ennis puts it, is not “sex” but something much more, much deeper. “Brokeback Mountain” has been called a “gay cowboy movie”, but that is too narrow a focus. This is, rather a western romance, with real characters, full and developed. The words are sparse, carefully crafted by Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana from Annie Poulox’s “New Yorker” short story. It is a “must see” movie which has already garnered several awards and is sure to take home more than one Oscar. Do not be put off by any prejudices or what you might think you know; this film far surpasses expectations.
[--- Good ---]by  Feb 11, 2006
[--- See Now! ---]by  Mar 12, 2006
I highly recommend that if you are having any doubts about this film, please put your preconceived notions aside and go see this film, because it really is an amazing piece of cinema, with all of the political and societal stigmas aside.

I have actually seen it twice and it was even better the second time! I truly believe that it should have won Best Picture because the film and its characters resonate and stay with you, regardless of your background or beliefs. This film will, without a doubt, stand the test of time and will continue to resonate with future generations.

I am not one to see a film based purely on pomp and circumstance but rather on merit. Be assured that this film definitely has the merit and is more than worth the price of a movie ticket. See it for yourself.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 2, 2006
Brokeback Mountain is truely a story about love despite barriers and how two people, right or wrong, can't fight the overpowering force of that love.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Brokeback Mountain.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.