The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, October 20th, 2004

Directed by Alexander Payne
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 2:03

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Sideways
Academy Award® Winner
A failed novelist and his soon-to-be-married washed-up actor friend salute the remains of their youth and take one last road trip in the week before the big wedding.  View more >

R
language, some strong sexual content and nudity

Starring Thomas Haden Church, Paul Giamatti, Virginia Madsen...  View more >

Academy AwardŽ Winner
Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

Academy AwardŽ Nominations
Actor in a Supporting Role - Thomas Haden...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  5 63 See Now! Percent
Good  1 13 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 13 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 13 Stay Away! Percent
8 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Sideways.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Nov 30, 2004
My favorite film of 2004 so far. Awesome characters.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberDec 2, 2004
One of the best movies of 2004 is a little film called "Sideways," which made me smile. I saw "Sideways" the same day thet I saw "National Treasure." and the evidence is clear, "Sideways" is a much better, better written, better directed by Alexander Payne,(who also co-wrote the film) than that half-cook Indiana Jones rip-off. this is the story of two mern who went on a final roadteip before one of then ties the knot.

Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden church give memorable performances that screams Oscar nods. Giamatti came a long way since "Big Fat Liar," and I suspect that he has a bright future. More than two and a half years, my suspicions came true. If he gets an Oscar nod, I'll be there cheering for him along with Church. "Sideways" makes other road trip movies seeem pale by companison.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 28, 2004
See it now. This is easily the funniest, laugh-out-loud movie of the year. The interplay between Hayden-Church and Giametti is incredible and legendary. Excellent movie that is even more appreciated if you love wine.
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 22, 2005
This is a strange movie to recommend. It's starts out so slow and I heard more about wine then I cared to know. But the last third of the movie was so funny, I was laughing out loud. It was like Seinfeld meets an artsy film.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 29, 2005
I was happily surprised by this comedy. All along we were told it was a movie about "wine tasting" -- and that put me off a bit. It is about two buddies taking a trip. Forget the wine. Maybe there's something deep in the kinds of wine they drink, but I don't know. I enjoyed the movie for what it is. No deep meanings, please! Just have fun.

It is a shame Paul Giamatti did not get nominated for Best Actor. His character, Miles, was true and consistent and thoroughly enjoyable. I could "feel" Miles in every scene -- Giamatti's performance was ideal.

See this movie this week -- before it gets away!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 1, 2005
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie!
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Feb 24, 2005
This is absolutely not good at all - I cna not believe it is up for any awards.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jul 19, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.