The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service

Share This Page

Ladder 49
A firefighter awaiting rescue inside a burning building reflects on his career, friends and family.

Starring Joaquin Phoenix, John Travolta, Morris Chestnut...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Oct 4, 2004
It was a good movie, lots of action,
Oct 4, 2004
Don't expect "Ladder 49" to become another "Backdraft," the epic firefighter movie from director Ron Howard. "Ladder 49" is about firefighting, but on a personal level. The film is about one man's love for a fire company that changed since 9/11/01. The film also takes a look at the personal lives of the men of Ladder 49.
Oct 13, 2004
Oct 16, 2004
It's a must see
Oct 28, 2004
This movie has it all - good love story, funny, exciting and emotional.
Oct 29, 2004
This movie was probably the best movie I have seen in a few years. My husband even liked this movie and he is in to comedy movies not drama movies. I would highly recommend this movie.
Nov 6, 2004
Jan 2, 2005
Good movie, definitely go see it. It's a serious one, but something that will please both the girls and the boys in the audience. :)

Hey, remember that girl from the Nickelodeon show "The Secret World of Alex Mack"? She's in there, ha ha! She's grown up from the little ooze-morphing girl she once played on that show!
Jan 18, 2005
Dec 3, 2005
It was a good movie, but not a great one.

A good look at the guy's life, but not as sensational as Backdraft was with the fire scenes.

Even though it was 2 hours long, it seemed rushed. I didn't feel like I got a good grasp of the character, so it made it hard to identify with him. Maybe it's because of the flashback way of telling the story, you are forced into the situation before you've gotten to know the people involved, and then you're spending the entire movie playing catch-up.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Ladder 49.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2016, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook