The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, May 19th, 2004

Directed by Kelly Asbury
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:45

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Shrek 2
Academy Award® Nominee
After returning home from their honeymoon Shrek and Fiona must meet with Fiona's parents. The only problem is that the parents have no idea that their daughter is now an ogre. Meanwhile, Prince...  View more >

PG
some crude humor, a brief substance reference and some suggestive content

Starring Mike Myers, Eddie Murphy, Cameron Diaz...  View more >

Academy Award® Nominations
Animated Feature Film
Music (Song)

Watch the View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  13 65 See Now! Percent
Good  7 35 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
20 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Shrek 2.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  May 19, 2004
I will not mince words, this is NOT as funny as the original. The original was a 4 star classic. This one is good and funny but don't expect to be bowled over.

Who did they get to sing the comic songs? Their diction was so poor I couldn't understand half the words they were singing. Get someone to enunciate!
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 22, 2004
This is even better than the first one. Maybe the other reviewer was at a bad theater.

I own Shrek and will soon be owning Shrek 2 when it comes to DVD. . .Shrek 2 IS better than Shrek!
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 22, 2004
[--- Good ---]by  May 23, 2004
Most movie-goers will understand that this is not going to be able to approach the original. Keeping that in mind, it is possible to really enjoy Shrek 2.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 25, 2004
This was a gret family movie, a pleasure to see.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 25, 2004
While the first one was fresh, surprising, and original, this sequel is more of the same. Not that that's at all a bad thing, it's just that I wasn't as surprised as I could have been at what this movie has to offer. That said, I laughed a lot, the animation was incredible, and all the voice acting was excellent.

The one complaint I had is that the best new character by far, Puss in Boots (voiced by Antonio Banderas), is woefully underused. Virtually every time he says something or does something it's hilarious, but unfortunately that's not very often. We got a lot more of Eddie Murphy's Donkey, who I frankly found pretty annoying this time around. The Fairy Godmother makes for a fresh villain, plus she has a hilarious song towards the beginning that will have many people rolling in the aisles.

There are a lot of sight gags that poke fun at Disney, and many kids will recognize these characters and be amused. The funniest reference was right at the beginning, having to do with the Little Mermaid. It's quick, though, so don't blink.

All in all, "Shrek 2" makes for very, very solid entertainment for just about anyone. The only people that won't enjoy it are those with a heart of stone. It's funny, clever, even sort of touching in an odd way, just not as fresh as the first one. ***1/2 out of 4 stars.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 26, 2004
Very Funny!
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 26, 2004
I wasn't expecting this to be as good as it was. It's difficult to write a good sequel, but this movie was probably better than the first. The plot was clever and followed very nicely from the first. There was plenty of humor and the new characters were great.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 27, 2004
I enjoyed every minute of the movie and tried to take in every detail and pun. Shrek 2 is as entertaining as the original, if not more so, because we're already "good friends" with main characters and can appreciate their endearing qualities without having to "get to know them" first. Take the whole family to Shrek 2 right away.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberMay 28, 2004
For a sequel, Shrek 2 does a pretty good job of continuing the Shrek story. The same humor is there, which is a good thing, and a few new characters keep things fresh.

The one knock that I have against it is that the large number of contemporary humorous references limit the long-range appeal of the movie. For example, the reference to Spider-Man works because people remember that scene, but a few years from now, it will not be as recognizable, and the humor will be blunted, if not completely lost. Perhaps the DVD will have some kind of pop-up video showing what particular scenes are referencing to refresh our memories as to why they are funny.

That said, Shrek 2 is an enjoyable ride. I'm sure that there is so much going on in the background that multiple viewings would provide the opportunity to enjoy it on even more levels.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 30, 2004
MUCH better than the original. The whole Family will be filled with fun and laughter! Has hilarious references to other Disney movies!

Only once in a while comes a movie that you can bring the whole family to. I'm most likely going to get this movie when it comes out because I wouldn't mind seeing it over and over again!

I highly reccomend this movie to all!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 31, 2004
Fifty times better than the first (I really didn't care for the first one that much)! More humor, and the CGI is mind blowing! I suggest taking several friends and family, you'll laugh non-stop!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 4, 2004
This movie is a "must see". We took our niece and nephew, ages 4 and 6, and they loved it. Again, this Sheck 2 is also directed for child and adult entertainment. This is a great family movie because of the message it sends to all the viewers. You'll have to watch it to find out!!!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 14, 2004
It was a great movie. The cat is really the best part. If you do see it make sure to stay after the movie ends, there is a small scene after the first little sets of credits. It is not something to be missed!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 22, 2004
Just as good and original as the first movie.

It plays as if we have just had a three year intermission and this is just the end of the first film.

Again we have the numerous funny references to both Disney and fairytales that we loved so much in the first one.

Many of the jokes will be over the heads of your kids and I often found myself laughing with the other adults at jokes or scenes that the children just didn't get. Pinnochio's Mission Impossible scene being the best of all IMHO.

I'm looking forward to the special edition DVD and to Shrek 3 in 2006.

9/10
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 3, 2004
It was pretty funny, but I like the original better. Some pretty good music although they totally butchered "I Need a Hero" which is a broadway classic, and should stay that way.

This movie is quick-paced and funny for the whole family although you can feel the jokes leaning toward the mature level. Don't worry though - the kids won't understand the raunchier jokes anyway.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJul 14, 2004
Before I review "Shrek 2" I like to make a few comments. 1) Why the commericals endorsement for the film? I see commericals for cearal, hamburgers, soda, candy, even the Operation game that feature Shrek. I know people had to make a buck but, can't the film speak for itself,without product endorsement running every night on the tube. 2) The song at the end "La Viva Loca," I hate that song. Can't they come up with a better song.

Now to the review. I like it, but not as good as the first. But still got plenty of good moments in the film. Shrek and Fiona along with donkey went to see their inlaws. Fun and surprises dominated the sequel, just like the first.
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 30, 2004
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 30, 2004
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 19, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.