The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, November 7th, 2003

Directed by Jon Favreau

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Elf
Will Ferrell plays a full-grown man raised as an Elf at the North Pole who has the expected problems fitting in. When he goes to New York in search of his real family, he finds that it is equally...  View more >

PG
some mild rude humor and language

Starring Will Ferrell, Edward Asner, Mary Steenburgen...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Elf.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by nick0915 Nov 8, 2003

This is a funny movie for the whole family to see! 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Tom K Nov 15, 2003

The first 2/3s had some very funny moments. The last 1/3 was lame. Good film for kids, but don't shell out big bucks for adults. 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberNov 19, 2003

"Elf" is a film that is better than expected. A few months back, I saw a trailor for the film and I came away with the notion that it was a big dumb movie. My first rule of though is never judge a movie by its trailor. I saw the whoile movie and it was one of the funniest movies this year. Will Ferrill, who was in the terrible "Old School," redeemed himself as a man who went to the north pole as an infant. Later, when he learned that he's not an elf, a journeyed to New York City to find his real dad. James Caan in a rare comic performance plays a book editor who doesn't have time for his famiuly until Elf shows up. The film was written funny even if the title character is dumb-down. Elf and reindeer jokes are funny. Matter of fact, not only is this film's funny but is touching as well. "Elf" made my day. 

[--- Good ---]by moily Nov 22, 2003

The kids (11 & 7) really liked this movie. Fact is the seven year old thought it was the best movie she ever saw (non-animated of course)! I thought it was ....cute would be the best way to discribe it. It's a nice, feel good Christmas type movie. 

[--- Good ---]by Holly Nov 29, 2003

Elf was a great movie with lots of laughs and would be enjoyed by the whole family. The trailor to the movie makes you think that it would be just another one of those ridiculosly stupid movies that are so dumb they make you laugh.

Elf though is different it is funny without being overly dorkish. A great Christmastime movie that your whole family will love to see. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Sinamax Dec 4, 2003

Not too bad but a waste of time in the theater 

[--- See Now! ---]by Scholz3 Dec 26, 2003
[--- Good ---]by cmgore Jan 6, 2004

Fun Family Film! 

[--- See Now! ---]by rittro Jul 5, 2004

Hilarious! One of the funniest movies i have ever seen. An excellent family film. 

[--- See Now! ---]by MissyM28 Dec 19, 2004



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.