The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, May 18th, 2001

Directed by Andrew Adamson
Genre: Family
Running Time: 1:27

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Shrek
Academy Award® Winner
An ogre named Shrek finds his life of solitude interrupted by a host of annoying fairytale characters, including three blind mice, the big bad wolf, and three little pigs -- all banished from their...  View more >

PG
mild language and some crude humor

Starring Mike Myers, Cameron Diaz, Linda Hunt...  View more >

Oscar ® Winner for Best Animated Feature Film
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  14 58 See Now! Percent
Good  8 33 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 8 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
24 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberMay 16, 2001
One Liner: A very funny movie!

There once was an ogre named Shrek. He lived in a swamp all by himself. He was a happy well adjusted ogre, but all of that was about to change.

Lord Farquaad banishes all fairy tale characters from his kingdom and in the cleanup process a talking donkey escapes with the reluctant help of Shrek. All of the fairy tale people end up in Shrek's swamp because there is nowhere else to go.

In an effort to rid his swamp of all these unwanted people, Shrek sets forth with the donkey to see about getting Lord Farquaad to change his mind about the fairy tale people.

However, Lord Farquaad is on a mission of his own, a dangerous mission which he gets Shrek to do for him. Rescue Princess Fiona from a distant castle protected by a fire-breathing dragon.

The humor is sometimes crude and many of the jokes and references will go right over younger children's heads, but this fabulously animated film will be great fun for everyone.

The voices of <A HREF="http://us.imdb.com/Name?Myers,+Mike" TARGET="ExternalSite">Mike Myers</A>, <A HREF="http://us.imdb.com/Name?Murphy,+Eddie" TARGET="ExternalSite">Eddie Murphy</A>, <A HREF="http://us.imdb.com/Name?Lithgow,+John" TARGET="ExternalSite">John Lithgow</A> and <A HREF="http://us.imdb.com/Name?Diaz,+Cameron" TARGET="ExternalSite">Cameron Diaz</A> lend great style and range to the characters. I was impressed with the animation and attention to detail. I found the scenes with the gingerbread man to be especially funny!

Copyright 2001 - Ron Higgins
<I>No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.</I>
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 20, 2001
If you have children over the age of 7 and want to see a really good movie.....see Shrek.

We enjoyed the movie very much and were pleasantly surprised.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 21, 2001
Shrek was a delight from the beginning to the end. Be sure to watch carefully as the film pokes fun at Disney throughout. Our 5 year old laughed almost nonstop along with her parents.

So it's definitely a movie that can be enjoyed by the entire family.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 21, 2001
This is a good movie for everyone. It has enough levels of humor to keep the young and not so young laughing throughout.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 21, 2001
I loved shrek. It made me cry it was so funny, but also I found the themes to be very poignant. Perhaps we can all learn from the wisdom of this lovable ogre.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberMay 23, 2001
"Shrek" is a computer aminated tale of fairytale land with a different take. The comic take that sees them in a different light.

The movie is a hip take-off of fairytale lore. The title character (played by Mike Myers) is a ogre who thinks he's really ugly (which he's not), spends his life in isolation, until a donkey named Donkey shows up, Donkey is voiced by Eddie Murphy. The two journeyed to the castle to rescue the princess, voiced by Cameron Diaz. (whose voice, mannerism and movements had reminded me of Actress Daphne Zuiga) The villian is Prince Farquaad who is short for a villian, but long of being mean. He wanted to marry the princess too.

Some of the stuff is very funny, most of the material came from Murphy, who is no stranger to aminated films.(He was the voice for the dragon in "Muran.") Not only the film a satire, but the film works as a tender love story between Shrek and the princess. In other words, "Shrek" works very well at both levels; a love story and a satire. The film has many surprises and many laughs. You won't be disapinted by this film.

Another computer aminated film "Final Fantasy" will be in theatres shortly. But for now let's all have some fun with the film "Shrek."
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  May 24, 2001
I agree with Ron, alot of the humor goes right over the younger viewers heads however, alot of it does not. If you have young children keep them away until you have a chance to view it yourself. Unless your not offended by many referances to A** which they get away with because their is a donkey in the film, along with a tirade of sexual inuendos.

I have a seven yr old who saw this movie with us and not much went over her head. I have to say as a grown up I enjoyed the movie, I just wish I hadn't brought my kids along.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 26, 2001
This is a good movie for the whole family (almost). My boys (10, 9, & 6) enjoyed the movie and thought it was funny. My daughter (5) enjoyed most of the movie. She did have problems with the dragon, but she kept looking back while sitting on my lap.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 29, 2001
Very well done. Great laughs all the way through. I thought this was a kids movie, but it's for all ages. Go see it!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 3, 2001
FUNNY! We went to this movie with friends, one of whom doesn't really care for Mike Meyers. In some parts he was crying, he was laughing so hard.

This is not just a movie for kids, folks. It has a good message that everyone should be reminded of now and again, but the preachiness is not overpowering. Throw that in with a terrific cast and some great humor and you've got the makings of a very good movie.

The soundtrack is very good, too. Lots of upbeat, fun music that will keep your toes tapping for most of the show.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 3, 2001
If this movie does not win every award it can, the reviewers should be out of a job. Laughs, thought provoking, for males and females, young and old. EXCELLENT!!!

My husband and I went alone, and laughed until it hurt. He stayed awake for the whole movie whick has not been done in many years. This is a must see.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jun 7, 2001
This movie was mediocre. The plot was okay, and some parts were sort of funny, like when they did take-offs on other stories and stuff.

But the end was not what I expected, and I didn't like the ending... you can see for yourself... little kids wouldn't really understand all that much of it, I don't think.... but go and see for yourself....
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 13, 2001
Forget Pearl Harbor... this was Disney's true masterpiece! It was a brilliant sattire of every other Disney cartoon people have been poking fun at for the last decade. The end was kind of predictable, but nothing else was! The characters were realistic (for a fairy tale world), and the plot was completely original.

The best part about seeing Shrek was seeing it with a college buddy. We were in a theatre full of little kids and their parents. Every once in a while there'd be a joke that we'd bust out laughing for, but the rest of the room would be SILENT! I love disney humor that just isn't meant for kids... not that it's inappropriate for them, but they just don't get it! It's a movie for all ages
[--- Good ---]by  Jun 16, 2001
This was a pretty cool movie. I think it's good for all ages, it has things little kids would like and things adults would like. The graphics were really good and so was the voice acting!!!!!

Take the family, it will be fun.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 18, 2001
A hilarious movie with great animation. One that kids and adults can enjoy. If you haven't seen it yet, go. NOW!
[--- Good ---]by  Jun 24, 2001
Funny movie. I absolutely loved the donkey.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 2, 2001
This movie is funny. The voices are as entertaining as the storyline.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 17, 2001
Every time I think that computer animation has reached its pinnacle, I see a new feature length film from Dreamworks or Disney/Pixar and I am proven wrong (of course). This doesn't surprise me, but I still can't help but still gasp in awe when I see complete fluid motion of characters and of, well, fluids (nice beer keg spill); grass blowing in the wind, shadows, and texture. Ironically, many critics (virtually all of whom are gushing about Shrek) mention the animation quality briefly if at all.

That’s because Shrek is not a great animated movie, it’s a great movie that happens to be animated. Look at the ingredients: A hilarious screenplay with jokes coming a mile a minute, engaging characters, an engrossing story, and some unexpected funny swipes at competitor Disney. The end result is that Dreamworks has equaled the final product of their outstanding debut feature, Antz (****).

Our protagonist is an ogre (Mike Myers, using a hilarious Scottish accent not unlike the portly fellow he created for the second Austin Powers movie), sent on a quest by Lord Farquaad (John Lithgow) to rescue a princess (Cameron Diaz) from a dragon. Shrek is accompanied on this journey by a donkey named "Donkey" (Eddie Murphy). Hmm…I just said "donkey" aloud in a Scottish accent and made myself laugh. Donkey's presence does not please Shrek, but it does please the audience, as their interaction (especially Murphy's raw energy) steals the show.

There are moments that feature jokes within jokes. During a "Dating Game" parody, an assassin shows his trouble with numbers. An interrogation scene turns into an unintended recital of a nursery rhyme. Scenes like these show that the filmmakers cared too much to just rubber stamp out another animated feature. There are actually several major parts of Shrek that play out unpredictably. Amazing!

A slightly irreverent tone (look for the balloon snake) permeates the movie, and simultaneously lets you know that everyone involved is (a) having fun and (b) loves this movie. I do too.

P.S. I often warn readers not to leave before the credits roll. It won't be a problem in Shrek as there aren't any outtakes, bonuses, etc. They didn't NEED anything else. But speaking of credits, can you think of another animated movie that lists the "cast" (voices) in the opening credits? What a great idea. With that happening, it's almost as if animation is finally being recognized as being as legitimate as all those live action movies that will be below Shrek on my end of year list. There will be many.
[--- Good ---]by  Aug 29, 2001
I thought this movie was good. It kinda dragged though some parts. When they made fun of storybook characters it was funny but thats about it. Ending is differnt than i thought but it was ok. Good kids movie... Very very end it pretty good.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 3, 2002
I couldn't stop laughing.

This could possibly be just about the funniest animated feature ever made to date. And I'm including Toy Story I & II, Bugs Life, Ants and all the movies from the Wallace & Gromit team.

Eddie Murphy and Mike Myers are perfect for the characters which have obviously been created around their personalities and features.

Get it out on DVD and watch the Karaoki segment.

I guarentee you'll love this gem and thankfully they're making a sequel.

10/10
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 10, 2002
Shrek was a delighful suprise. Very anti-Disney in many respects and very original in concept.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJul 21, 2003
[--- Good ---]by  Jun 11, 2011
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 19, 2012

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Shrek.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.