The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, February 21st, 2003

Directed by Todd Phillips

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Old School
Three 30-something buddies try to recapture the outrageous, irrepressible fun of their college years by starting their own off-campus frat house.  View more >

R
some strong sexual content, nudity and language

Starring Luke Wilson, Will Ferrell, Vince Vaughn...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Old School.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberFeb 22, 2003

"Old School" is an ugly comedy about three grown-ups, (Luke Wilson, Will Ferrell & Vince Vaughn) trying to start a frat house for grown ups who act like college kids. There's nothing to laugh at. Not one laugh.

I attended a special screening of "Old School," and there a huge groups of college kids that laugh at every bad joke in the movie. I feel very sad at what I saw inside the movie theatre. The last credible film on college life is the Oscar Winning film "A Beautiful Mind." It is also the last college movie that had a libaray.

Before that, there was "Loser," a better college movie because the heroes of the film would rather study than party. I call that movie an anti-Animal House. I also like "Animal House" becuae it's funny without being gross out, and the 1932 classic "Horsefeathers," because of the comic talent of the Marx Brothers.

"Old School" & "National Lapoon's Van Wilder," another terrible college movie, is out only to embrassed College studants & make mockery of the system. "Old School" doesn't have much to say except it treats its male characters like sex crave jerks and women treated like those Girls in the "Girls Go Wild" videos. "Old School" got old real fast. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Hellboy Feb 23, 2003

I would have to agree, in part, with the previous statement about the way college movies are portrayed. They are generally devoid of any real talent in their creation, and since Animal House, basically pretty formulaic. Old School follows those same lines and really doesn't offer too much in the way of ground breaking film making. But, that actually is part of what makes this movie work for me. It doesn't pretend to be anything other than what it is. So, what is it? It is a morally bankrupt film that caters to the lowest common denominator of humor.

Having said that, I don't remember the last time I laughed harder. This movie requires pretty much zero thought on the part of the movie patron. It relies heavily on sight gags, raunchy humor, and throws any political correctness out the window. For as much as I like films to challenge me, it doesn't have to be thought provoking or groundbreaking to be good entertainment, which is what this is.

If you are looking for more, this film probably won't suit you. However, if you don't mind sitting back and letting the laughs come fast and easy, there hasn't been a better movie so far this year. 

[--- Good ---]by BAMFRA Feb 25, 2003
[--- See Now! ---]by Dan Mar 3, 2003

This is the funniest movie I have seen sence Jay and Silent bob strike back, I enjoyed every minute. This could possible be the funniest movie I have ever seen. Definitly spend the money and go tonight. 

[--- Good ---]by Tom K Mar 4, 2003

Would have rated a "See Now!", but the trailer gave away 90% of the best gags. If you've seen the trailer, "Wait for Rental" to give you time to forget what you've already laughed at. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Ron Higgins VIP MemberMar 6, 2003

I laughed once, I cringed once. I was pretty disappointed. Pick this one up at rental if you're interested. Otherwise, don't bother. 

[--- See Now! ---]by conso Mar 23, 2003

it is funny 

[--- Good ---]by bebop717 Apr 12, 2003
[--- See Now! ---]by dpmoney21@aol.com Apr 29, 2003

If you're in college, and you enjoy the "college life" -- don't miss this. 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Michael Mazzoni Aug 31, 2007
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by wetback39906 Mar 9, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.