The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 22nd, 2000

Directed by Ang Lee

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
Academy Award® Winner
A great martial arts master and a female warrior attempt to retrieve the stolen legendary sword Green Destiny.  View more >

PG-13
martial arts violence and some sexuality

Starring Chow Yun-Fat, Michelle Yeoh, Zhang Ziyi

Academy AwardŽ Winner for Best Cinematography, Best Music (Score), Best Foreign Language Film.

OscarŽ Nominated for Best Picture, Best Foreign...
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by Scott Jan 19, 2001

Great movie. I want my comb back!!! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Mike Jan 21, 2001

This film will win awards. Be warned though it is a subtitled film, and if you can't get past having to read for two hours, this film may not be for you.

The martial arts work in this film is beyond compare, as is the cinematography. The beauty and diversity of China's landscapes are used to their full potential.

A truly entertaining story well suited to the big screen. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Tom K Jan 27, 2001

The subtitles make it a bit difficult to follow, but this movie is so good, that I'm going to see it again. 

[--- See Now! ---]by lunatunz Feb 1, 2001

What a movie! If you grew up watching kung-fu theater like I did, this movie will be a treat.

I completely enjoyed this movie and would go see this movie again just to watch the fight scenes. I would advise anybody who wanted to see this movie to see it at a theater that has a larger screen. I saw it at a theater that had a huge screen and state of the art sound system.

This movie is also a perfect movie for the guy who wants to take his girlfriend/wife to a movie. The movie has both action for the guys and romance for the ladies. After seeing this movie, all I can say is "Hooray for Hollywood!" 

[--- See Now! ---]by Moovy Feb 6, 2001

Many people will avoid this film because it is foreign and has subtitles. If this film were somehow done without subtitles, it would more than likely be an even greater success than it has already surprisingly become. Yet, it really is not that hard to follow. One should definitely see it in the theatre.

Do not go to this movie with any pre-supposed expectations of what it will be like, because it is truly a unique film. The fighting scenes are absolutely breathtaking and original. Believe that!

It also has a very strong and well written story-line with some beautiful natural scenery.

All around an excellent film amongst the myriad bland and un-interesting others in the theatres right now... 

[--- See Now! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberFeb 8, 2001

A wonderful movie with a great music score. This film has taken the level of the kung-fu genre and take to to a new level.  

[--- Good ---]by Joshua Q. Grebb Feb 14, 2001

This movie is chinese with english sub-titles. But is was still very enjoyable
with some great views--so you will benefit from seeing it on a big screen. Acting was very good, as was characterization. A fair amount of suspension of belief. If you liked star wars, you may very well like this one. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Dean Berglund Mar 7, 2001

Great scenery and story line. It wasn't hard to get by the subtitles but it did in some ways distract from seeing the backround scenery at times. Great acting and music score. Lot's of action as well as a love story going on in this movie. See it at the big screen! 

[--- See Now! ---]by meat2001 Apr 15, 2001

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Great plot, acting, and action sequences! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Joe Apr 22, 2001

Great Movie! Wonderful acting all around. The action sequences were amazing, and the jokes were clever even though you had to read the subtitles. I will see this movie again when it comes out on video. 

[--- See Now! ---]by rickwin May 24, 2001

If its still in theaters see it! you better be able to read pretty fast because
theres no english. Very creative. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Luke Jun 18, 2001

This movie was really good!!! Definitly see it! It was all good: acting, scenery, special effects, fight scenes, story, and pretty much everything else.

The sutitles didn't bother me much but at times it became anoying, but you could still see it and like it even if you didn't know what they were saying! 

[--- Good ---]by Sk8r guy Jun 18, 2001

We rented this movie and it was dubbed. It was better than all those Jet Lee and Jackie Chan movie dubbings but the fight scens are far better in them.

Most of the moves were ripped off from The Matrix. I imagin It's a lot better on the big screen because it's got a lot of good scenic views. I'll say don't miss this one. It's worth your money but don't make it the next one you watch if you already have something else in mind. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Aaron1122 Jul 9, 2001

I've heard so many people complain about having to read the subtitles that it makes me ashamed to be American. This film is spectacular. 

[--- Good ---]by bekaloutaylor May 8, 2010



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.