The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 22nd, 2000

Directed by Ang Lee
Genre: Art/Foreign
Running Time: 2:00

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
Academy Award® Winner
A great martial arts master and a female warrior attempt to retrieve the stolen legendary sword Green Destiny.  View more >

PG-13
martial arts violence and some sexuality

Starring Chow Yun-Fat, Michelle Yeoh, Zhang Ziyi

Academy Award® Winner for Best Cinematography, Best Music (Score), Best Foreign Language Film.

Oscar® Nominated for Best Picture, Best...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  12 80 See Now! Percent
Good  3 20 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
15 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 19, 2001
Great movie. I want my comb back!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 21, 2001
This film will win awards. Be warned though it is a subtitled film, and if you can't get past having to read for two hours, this film may not be for you.

The martial arts work in this film is beyond compare, as is the cinematography. The beauty and diversity of China's landscapes are used to their full potential.

A truly entertaining story well suited to the big screen.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 27, 2001
The subtitles make it a bit difficult to follow, but this movie is so good, that I'm going to see it again.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 1, 2001
What a movie! If you grew up watching kung-fu theater like I did, this movie will be a treat.

I completely enjoyed this movie and would go see this movie again just to watch the fight scenes. I would advise anybody who wanted to see this movie to see it at a theater that has a larger screen. I saw it at a theater that had a huge screen and state of the art sound system.

This movie is also a perfect movie for the guy who wants to take his girlfriend/wife to a movie. The movie has both action for the guys and romance for the ladies. After seeing this movie, all I can say is "Hooray for Hollywood!"
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 6, 2001
Many people will avoid this film because it is foreign and has subtitles. If this film were somehow done without subtitles, it would more than likely be an even greater success than it has already surprisingly become. Yet, it really is not that hard to follow. One should definitely see it in the theatre.

Do not go to this movie with any pre-supposed expectations of what it will be like, because it is truly a unique film. The fighting scenes are absolutely breathtaking and original. Believe that!

It also has a very strong and well written story-line with some beautiful natural scenery.

All around an excellent film amongst the myriad bland and un-interesting others in the theatres right now...
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberFeb 8, 2001
A wonderful movie with a great music score. This film has taken the level of the kung-fu genre and take to to a new level.
[--- Good ---]by  Feb 14, 2001
This movie is chinese with english sub-titles. But is was still very enjoyable
with some great views--so you will benefit from seeing it on a big screen. Acting was very good, as was characterization. A fair amount of suspension of belief. If you liked star wars, you may very well like this one.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Mar 7, 2001
Great scenery and story line. It wasn't hard to get by the subtitles but it did in some ways distract from seeing the backround scenery at times. Great acting and music score. Lot's of action as well as a love story going on in this movie. See it at the big screen!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Apr 15, 2001
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Great plot, acting, and action sequences!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Apr 22, 2001
Great Movie! Wonderful acting all around. The action sequences were amazing, and the jokes were clever even though you had to read the subtitles. I will see this movie again when it comes out on video.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 24, 2001
If its still in theaters see it! you better be able to read pretty fast because
theres no english. Very creative.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 18, 2001
This movie was really good!!! Definitly see it! It was all good: acting, scenery, special effects, fight scenes, story, and pretty much everything else.

The sutitles didn't bother me much but at times it became anoying, but you could still see it and like it even if you didn't know what they were saying!
[--- Good ---]by  Jun 18, 2001
We rented this movie and it was dubbed. It was better than all those Jet Lee and Jackie Chan movie dubbings but the fight scens are far better in them.

Most of the moves were ripped off from The Matrix. I imagin It's a lot better on the big screen because it's got a lot of good scenic views. I'll say don't miss this one. It's worth your money but don't make it the next one you watch if you already have something else in mind.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 9, 2001
I've heard so many people complain about having to read the subtitles that it makes me ashamed to be American. This film is spectacular.
[--- Good ---]by  May 8, 2010

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.