The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, November 9th, 2012

Directed by Steven Spielberg
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 2:30

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Lincoln
Academy Award® Winner
Steven Spielberg directs two-time Academy Award® winner Daniel Day-Lewis in "Lincoln," a revealing drama that focuses on the 16th President's tumultuous final months in office. In a nation...  View more >

PG-13
an intense scene of war violence, some images of carnage and brief strong language

Starring Daniel Day-Lewis, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Sally Field...  View more >

Limited Release on November 9, 2012 and wider on November 16, 2012

Academy Award® winner for:
* Actor In a Leading Role
* Production...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  11 65 See Now! Percent
Good  3 18 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 12 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 6 Stay Away! Percent
17 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Lincoln.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Nov 18, 2012
The incredibly impressive & deeply-moving 'Lincoln' was made an even better experience at a superbly-run comfortable cinema w/great staff (T.Oaks Muvico -though must admit I'd gladly handle any old flee-pit just to see again this genuine masterpiece!

WHAT a magnificent effort by all concerned -a totally brilliant title-role performance by the far-beyond gifted Daniel Day Lewis, (whose total understanding & absorption of the essence of 'Honest Abe' effectively offers him back to all of us -virtually 'alive'!!! He is supported by a superb ensemble (notably Sally Field, T. Lee Jones, David Strathairn, Hal Holbrook & James Spader, the fine writing of Tony Kushner - under the direction of a genuine master!

As any 'total-rave' review might well say-(& are saying!) "these top-talents are all at the very top of their game! Truly-one for the ages!"
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Nov 20, 2012
This was a good movie but not great. Things I liked: understanding the circumstances surrounding the passing of the 13th amendment, Tommy Lee Jones' and Sally Fields' performances. Things I didn't like: Daniel Day-Lewis' performance...he muttered through the whole movie, the "olde english" style language which was difficult to follow many times, the screenplay was laborious to follow and didn't really add to an interesting story. I actually thought it would have been helpful to have had some historical sub-scripts with explanations about the significance of the scenes.

I guess many will see this as a great movie but I thought it was just average...certainly not Spielberg's best work...I'd wait to get a dvd rental on this one.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberNov 21, 2012
An excellent well-made move about the 16th President. Steven Spielberg has made a well-told tale about how President Lincoln deal with the final days of the Civil War. Daniel Day-Lewis did such an excellent job as the president, I hope he gate an Oscar nomination for Best Actor, and I hope he wins. I like his performance so much, I love to hear him speak. He brings justice to his role and to this movie. It more than make up for that lousy movie which is titled "Abraham Lincoln:Vampire Hunter." I don't like to mention it in the review, but someone has to. It';s probaby the best movie of 2012. I really like this movie a lot.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Nov 22, 2012
Every High School History Class should take a field trip and see this.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberNov 23, 2012
This is by far the best movie I've seen in ages! Daniel Day Lewis portrays a great Lincoln, and the rest of the cast are the best at what they do as well. Totally engrossing movie, depicting that era so accurately. I will see it again, which I very seldom do. The movie has something for everyone, I liked the fact that it did not dwell on the war & killing, instead it focused on the life and trials of Lincoln. Truly a great leader.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 22, 2012
Incredible understanding of Lincoln from just a 3 month slice of his life!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 28, 2012
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberDec 28, 2012
Well, this film is a pop-fiction Lincoln tale. It's worth seeing. But really, there's a bit too much hype. It's very interesting to see the war period as dark, misty, cold, etc. Yep, it's war....but enough already. That's through the whole film. Lots of gaps in credulity I think. Is Lincoln a hero because of his Emanacipation Proclamaiton....almost at the end of the war, January 1, 1863. Was he a great man because of this? Does he deserve all kinds of accolades because he pushed through the 13th Amendment a la LBJ (ear twister)? I"m not sure that's in the historical record. But it does show that Lincoln may be a great man because, even his party, was not all that keen on freeing the slaves.

Daniel Day Lewis is monotone throughout the film. Academy Award quality? I don't see it.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Dec 29, 2012
Boring! I almost fell asleep a couple times.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 31, 2012
Excellent movie depicting great Leadership.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 4, 2013
This should be a must for every American to see. High schools should make it part of the American History curriculum.
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 5, 2013
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 14, 2013
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 20, 2013
Good movie with a lot of historical and dramatic footage. Some insight into what went into the abolition of slavery and the politics involved.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Mar 13, 2013
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberMay 26, 2013
I had looked forward to seeing this movie for a long time. Daniel Day Lewis is an extremely gifted actor who has the ability to become the character he plays. He did not disappoint in this movie. I had expected Lincoln to give a broader scope of the man and his Presidency, not completely focus on his dogged determination to pass the 13th Amendment. I would have liked to have seen more on the life of Lincoln.

However, I believe Day-Lewis gave a fascinating glimpse into the life of the human and vulnerable Lincoln - a great man admired by many - but also a man who faced personal challenges as well as political ones. Tommy Lee Jones' performance was a wonderful counterpart to Day Lewis' stoic Lincoln. Sally Field did a superb job playing a very difficult character as his emotionally unstable wife Mary Todd.

My main complaint with the movie was the amount of profanity which I felt was completely unnecessary. I did enjoy the movie better the second time around as I was able to look more closely at the secondary characters and understand the workings of the political machine. I highly recommend this movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberJul 29, 2013
Talk about an ambitious project!

Steven Spielberg took the helm of a movie about one of the most recognizable and most admired people in U.S. history, and Daniel Day Lewis accepted a part that was certain to be examined by even the most casual observer. Nothing like pressure!

Fortunately, both were up to the task. Daniel Day Lewis has cemented himself as the image that I and many others will always have of our 16th President. I don't know if Abraham Lincoln really had the mannerisms used in this movie, but it works well here.

I have to admit to falling asleep the first time I tried watching this movie. There is a lot of talking, with not a lot of progress being made in the effort to not only end the Civil War but also end slavery, and not in that order. Sometimes, you just aren't in the right frame of mind to watch a particular movie, no matter how good, and this was one of those times. A week later, I gave it another try, and that was much better!

As with many of Spielberg's movies, I think this one will only get better with multiple viewings (so many movies are the exact opposite). The maneuvering it took to get these efforts through the political process was complex and likely no less dirty than today's politics. I think future viewings would make that process easier to understand and appreciate.

This is well worth watching and well worth owning in my opinion!



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.