The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Thursday, November 8th, 2012

Directed by Sam Mendes
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 2:23

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Skyfall: The IMAX Experience
Academy Award® Winner
The 23rd installment of the James Bond franchise, following Quantum of Solace. Bond's loyalty to M is tested as her past comes back to haunt her. As MI6 comes under attack, 007 must track down and...  View more >

PG-13
intense violent sequences throughout, some sexuality, language and smoking

Starring Daniel Craig, Judi Dench, Javier Bardem...  View more >

Academy Award® winner for:
* Sound Editing
* Music (Original Song)

Academy Award® nominee for:
* Cinematography
* Music (Original...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  5 36 See Now! Percent
Good  6 43 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 14 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 7 Stay Away! Percent
14 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by   Nov 9, 2012
The only question is whether it's better than Casino Royale, and it just might be. Well plotted and suspenseful, with exciting action sequences that you can easily follow. Very much worth seeing.
[--- Good ---]by   Nov 10, 2012
This was really very good, better than the 2nd in this series...although Casino Royale was still the best!
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Nov 11, 2012
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Nov 13, 2012
Just saw Skyfall and I have to say it was uninspiring. Daniel Craig proved he was a good James Bond in Casino royale (although everything else in a Bond film was missing from that movie). Quantum of Solace was better as he was just as good playing Bond and they filmed most of it outside in daylight and in somewhat exotic locals and there was a woman in the film that played a major roll that worked with him.

In Skyfall, well I just don't know where to start. There are way too many gaping holes in the story and time lines you just can't ignore (how can a bullet wound heal by the next scene and yet the time line is less than a week. Also he undergoes a helicopter attack which begins during the day and in the next scene it's nightime)? They put some gadgets in this film, but nothing really novel. Some of the action seems really forced as to just to put some action into the movie. The bad guy in the film is an interesting character and makes one think.

And they do have a lot of scenic shots of cities at night and countrysides during the day (one of the things I go to see Bond movies for because I'll never see these in my lifetime). Also they have numerous one liners in here that are really good. there is more to say, but I wouldn't want to ruin the movie for you

all in all, Skyfall is okay, but one doesn't have to spend the money to see it in a movie theater. I'd wait for a rental.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by   Nov 13, 2012
Boy you guys who liked this movie really got it wrong. It sucks...worse ever! Adele badly sings opening song and you see more skin in Victoria Secret commercials. First 10 minute action scenes are just ok. Bond gets "killed" twice by drowning and mysteriously reappears later with no explanation on how he survived. Javier Bardim's character is weird interpretation of abandoned MI6 agent looking for revenge...has bad blonde wig and non-british accent doesn't fit MI6 types...they admit Bond isn't fit but send him out to save Judy Densh alias M and she get killed kind of by accident...the whole thing is hogwash..don't waste your time or money. This should be the end of the series if this is the best they can do.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Nov 15, 2012
I saw "Skyfall" at the Celebration Cinema Crossroads' new IMAX theatre. This is the second movie that i have seen in IMAX. The first was "Raiders of the Lost Ark," in September. A film that I haven't seen in over thirty years. Although I cost a little more, sitting in front of giant screen and sitting in those big seats are worth it. But getting back to "Skyfall" or I'll probaby called it James Bond 23, It's the best James Bond in years. This is much better than the last Janes Bond movie, "Quantum of Solice," where the only good thing about this movie is the theme music. "Skyfall" will make people forget that movie and see Daniel Craig what he does best and that is playing James Bond, anbd he played it very well. Javier Bardern plays a powerful villain. He wants to take down MI6 and you know that he'll have to get pass Bond to do that. Check out the theme music from Adele which It could get an Oscar nomination as best song. One more thing I like about "Skyfall," it could retroduce James Bond to a new league of fans. Some of who dropped out after the last Bond movie. I hope they return. Harry Potter ened it run and Twilight will it's run, but James Bond will run on forever. And "Skyfall" is an indication that the series will live on forever.
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Nov 19, 2012
The movie itself is good. Lots of story elements keep you interested between the fighting and running and chasing. As good as Casino Royal? No, probably not, but still a worthy addition to the long line of Bond films.

As for the IMAX presentation, we were promised to see more of the image than would be shown in standard theaters. So the question is, what additional portion of the image did we see? Was it more at the top of the screen? Was it more at the bottom of the screen? Hard to say. In fact if pressed I would have guessed that we saw everything at the top and bottom, but lost some of the image at the sides. So if you're thinking about seeing the IMAX version just for more of the image, I would say that you shouldn't bother if it's any more expensive, or any further out of your way. There was nothing notable about the presentation.

Audio and video quality were good.
[--- Good ---]by   Nov 23, 2012
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Dec 4, 2012
This was not my idea of the typical "Bond" movie. I didn't enjoy it as much as the earlier ones. It has some very good scenes, action sections, but not like the Bond I'm used to seeing.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 28, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Dec 28, 2012
This is a very good Bond, an updated one. I was getting tired of just gadgets and exotic locations. This one keeps the high octange energy of the Bond genre....but ya don't see much of the 50ish recent Bonds exploiting 20 year-old's. Gadgets....think computers and a very young "Q." Judy Dentch as "M" is wonderful as always.

You learn about Bond's early days, why he's an agent, and that he's far from perfect.
[--- Good ---]by   Jan 6, 2013
Very good movie. Not the best Bond movie, but it delivers a good show for sure.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Jan 14, 2013
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Aug 20, 2013
Of the three Bond movies helmed by Daniel Craig, Skyfall ranks between Casino Royale (at the top) and Quantum of Solace (our third-place contender). However, it's probably the least Bond-like movie of the three.

The movie starts out in classic Bond fashion. An action scene that ramps up the tension through its whole course, with a stunning climax. What follows is a lot of vulnerability and weakness, both on the part of Bond and on the part of MI-6.

The whole affair ends in a fashion more reminiscent of "Home Alone" than the better Bond movies.

Is that to say that this movie isn't worth watching? Not at all! I enjoyed it the first time as well as a second viewing at home. It will be interesting to see where they will take the current series, or if they will do yet another restart with a new lead.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Skyfall: The IMAX Experience.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.