The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, November 21st, 2012

Directed by David O. Russell

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Silver Linings Playbook
Academy Award® Winner
Life doesn't always go according to plan…Pat Solitano (Bradley Cooper) has lost everything -- his house, his job, and his wife. He now finds himself living back with his mother (Jacki Weaver)...  View more >

R
language and some sexual content/nudity

Starring Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro...  View more >

Academy Award® winner for:
* Actress In a Leading Role

Academy Award® nominee for:
* Actor In a Leading Role
* Actor In a Supporting...
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Silver Linings Playbook.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by BigScreen Reader Nov 27, 2012

I loved this movie. Cooper and Lawrence are great here. But this is not a chick flick nor a romantic comedy. You have to invest some energy through most of this movie into the depths of mental illness and your payoff is a great ending. DeNiro is great also.

I just love the vibe of this story. It seems very real and all the characters are very attractive. Jennifer Lawrence just shines in this...she beautiful, believable and sexy without being exploited...she's really good in this...I think she has a great future...go see this...I think you will really like it. 

[--- See Now! ---]by richardbrowne VIP MemberDec 28, 2012

This is the best of the bunch this holiday season (Dec 2012). I loved this film because you leave the theater really happy. I learned a little about mental illness. I see how we all need to feel success, that we all need to be loved. The two main characters in the film seem like they will never come together. Do they? If so, how? 

[--- See Now! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJan 3, 2013

Jennifer Lawrence deserve Entertainment Weekly's Entertainer of the Year instead of Ben Affleck. He made one geat movie "Argo," but Jennifer made one good movie and two great movies. She deserve the title and rightly so. One movie in which she star in "Silver Linnings Playbook" is proof that Lawrence can carry an audience, like she has with "The Hunger Games." But Bradly cooper als gave a great performance. After he was release from a mental hospital, I had to move in with his parents to start lfe over and as we see in the movie, it won't be easy. Forget "The Hangover," Bradley Cooper gave the peerformance who struggle to deal with his loss and a ability to start over again. Jennifer Lawrence plays his love intrest who has similar problems. Both people need each other to deal with them. There was this dancing competition that has gladly taken the back seat to main issues of the movie. "Silver Linnings Playbook" is a must see and hopefully an Oscar contender for best picture.  

[--- Good ---]by wetback39906 Jan 12, 2013
[--- See Now! ---]by BigScreen Reader Jan 21, 2013

Anyone who knows someone, loves someone or is someone with mental illness will recognize the ring of truth to this well written, well played movie, complete with all the humor and angst, genuinely reflecting the reality of living with this illness. Gratifying to see and hear audience members previously largely ignorant of mental illness, leaving with a more informed perspective. As my husband said," I laughed, I cried, I laughed, I cried." It leaves everyone with hope and a smile on their faces. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Bluesummer Jan 25, 2013
[--- Good ---]by BigScreen Reader Jan 28, 2013



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.