The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Tuesday, December 25th, 2012

Directed by Tom Hooper
Genre: Musical
Running Time: 2:37

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Les Miserables
Academy Award® Winner
The motion-picture adaptation of the beloved global stage sensation seen by more than 60 million people in 42 countries and in 21 languages around the globe and still breaking box-office records...  View more >

PG-13
suggestive and sexual material, violence and thematic elements

Starring Anne Hathaway, Hugh Jackman, Russell Crowe...  View more >

aka Les Misérables

Academy Award® winner for:
* Makeup and Hairstyling
* Sound Mixing
* Actress In a Supporting Role

Academy...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  4 57 See Now! Percent
Good  2 29 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 14 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
7 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Les Miserables.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 26, 2012
Awesome movie/musical. This story of redemption never gets old.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Dec 28, 2012
This is by far the very best movie I've seen in many years! All the cast did an excellent job, especially Russell Crow, Hugh Jackman and Anne Hathaway. I have seen the stage production, which was very well done, but this surpassed even that. The acting, singing, direction were spellbinding. At the end of the movie everyone in the audience, all ages, applauded and stayed through all the credits. I could almost feel the intense heat of the fires and smell the acrid odor of the sewers. There is a certain "greatness" in this production. I cannot put into words all that I experienced, you must see it for yourself.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 28, 2012
Terrific. Very powerful. Better than I ever thought it could be.
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Dec 28, 2012
A very long interesting tale of the French Revolution - led by brave youths. It is the story of a man who stole bread as a youth, fled, became a success in a sense....but also exploited. He is pursed by the law (Russel Crowe), has a wonderful daughter....and you don't need to know more.

The format, singing most lines, is not my favorite. But the singing of Anne Hathaway and Amanda Seyfriend is wonderful. The film is long with gorgeous photography and sets. Most of men in the film have high wimpy vocies. It's a great love story and a story of how people often get doomed, through no fault of their own, and overcome incredible odds.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 30, 2012
OMG!!! OMG!! We just saw Les Miserables!! Absolutely awesome!!!!!!! I will see it again, and I will buy the DVD when it is available. I have the Les Miserables with Liam Neesen and I love it.
This is a must see for anyone that loves musicals and absolutely a MUST if you are a Les Miserables fan.

Russell Crowe isn't the greatest singer, but it doesn't matter, the story line is what draws you in. Everyone applauded at the end of the movie.
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Jan 3, 2013
Watching "Les Miserables" reminds me of attending the live show in 1992 and I was blown away by the play. This time, not so. The film version has limited my enjoyment, but despite that the strong cast has in way save this movie. Anne Hathaway performance blew me away as well as performances Hugh Jackman and Russell Crowne. I like the little girl. She reminds me of a young Dakota Fanning. I love the poster of the movie. I kind of like the movie, but don't expect much.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Jan 14, 2013



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.