The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

© 2011 Paramount Pictures Corporation All rights reserved
.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, November 23rd, 2011

Directed by Martin Scorcese
Genre: Adventure
Running Time: 2:07

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Hugo
Academy Award® Winner
Twelve-year-old Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks with an eccentric girl and the owner...  View more >

PG
mild thematic material, some action/peril and smoking

Starring Asa Butterfield, Chloe Grace Moretz, Sacha Baron Cohen...  View more >

Academy Award® winner for:
* Art Direction
* Cinematography
* Sound Editing
* Sound Mixing
* Visual Effects

Academy Award® nominated...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  7 70 See Now! Percent
Good  3 30 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
10 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by   Nov 29, 2011
Pure entertainment....great movie....produced by Johnny Depp as well as Scoresese...acting was terrific especially Kingsley and the young boy and girl.....Sasha Cohen was even very good to my surprise.....fast paced story and filming...great visuals in each scene.....a real old time Paris feel to it......this movie will become a classic to be seen over and over again....I loved it!
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Nov 30, 2011
A turly wonderful movie. It's director Martin Sorsese tribute to early cinema. The movie takes place in the 1930's Paris train station where the hero of the film, Hugo, is hiding stealing and trying to survive. TYwo people enter his life, the director George Melies who director some of the early cinema in early 20th Century. and Chloe Grace Moretz who befriend him. Melies is play by Ben Kingsley in a excellent roile. I love the robot. He draws scenes from some of Melies early shorts. The reason why I love the movie, is not because of the 3D special effects. I happen to love the 3D effects ehat go along nicely with the movie, but this film plays tribute to early cinema. Melies directed about 500 early shorts includiing "A Trip to the Moon," I saw that short along with some of Melies works on Turner Classic Movies. Another scene where the tow kids watch the 1923 film "Safety Last," and how they reacted to the film is a gem. Chloe Grace Moretz gives quite a sweet performance. She's one of my favorite young actresses. Recently, I saw the early works of Melies on Turner Classic Movies. (If you wannt to watch some of his work, you should tune to to that channel) A lot of Melies work is lost are lost forever, being made into women's heels. But thanks to Hugo, a lot of people including me are enjoying his works today. "Hugo" is a love letter to early cinema.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 3, 2011
If you're interested in seeing this movie, I highly recommend the 3-D version. Martin Scorsese used 3-D, not as a gimmick, but as a means of drawing the viewers into a unique and magical environment. After seeing the 3-D version myself, I am glad I paid a little extra money for the special 3-D glasses.
[--- Good ---]by   Dec 14, 2011
I guess I must have seen a different version of this movie according to the previous reviews. The 3-d effects were nothing special and the movie labored along at a slow pace.

I am not saying it was bad just a far cry from something I would call "see now". But this is why they make different movies, we all don't like the same thing.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 23, 2011
Hugo tops Hyker's top 3D movie list for 2011, amazing attention to detail, great script Martin Scorsese's first 3D effort was produced by Johnny Depp. Bring the kids to this one.

Hyker's 3D top 10 list for 2011

1. Hugo
2. Pirates of the Caribbean
3. Cars 2
4. A Very Harold and Kumar Christmas
5. The Three Musketeers
6. Harry Potter and the Deadly Hallows Part 2
7. RA.One
8. Glee: The 3D Concert Mountain View Movies
9. The Green Lanturn
10. Drive Angry a 2D/3D conversion

Couldn't find Pina 3D
'The Future Will Be In 3D' Hyker
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Dec 27, 2011
Having seen Hugo in both 3D and 2D, I can say that the movie is good both ways. If you do not see it in 3D, you are not missing anything major, just some well-done 3D effects. Seeing it a second time was also helpful in appreciating some of the finer points of the movie, much like reading a book the second time around (but the movie is not confusing as to require multiple viewings).

The movie centers around the desire of young orphan Hugo Cabret to restore an automaton that he and his father were working on before his father's death. Hugo now lives behind the walls of the train station in Paris and survives by stealing food and he spends his days keeping the station's clocks maintained (the job of his uncle who took him in, but then disappeared). His desire for spare parts causes him to cross paths with the owner of a toy shop in the station, who happens to have a secret past with more than one connection to Hugo as well as a cute god-daughter that helps Hugo because she sees the opportunity for an adventure.

The movie is well done, and you feel like you've been transported back to 1930's Paris. I'm sure that some/much of it was done with special effects, but they never draw attention to themselves, so you aren't distracted by them. It also features excellent performances from a variety of actors. Along with the kids (Asa Butterfield and Chloe Grace Moretz), other actors in supporting roles include Sacha Baron Cohen, Ben Kingsley, Jude Law, Christopher Lee, and others.

I fully enjoyed seeing the movie, and didn't mind at all seeing it twice in a short period of time. It was good enough to buy on Blu-ray when it becomes available, and I'm hoping that it will come with extras that will provide additional insight into the making of the movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Feb 3, 2012
Two months ago, I sat though "Hugo in 3D. Now two months later I'm sitting though "Hugo" again, only this time it's in 2D. I don't care whatever it's in 2D or 3D, you will still love the movie, no matter the format.
[--- Good ---]by   Feb 12, 2012
[--- Good ---]by   Feb 12, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by   May 27, 2012

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Hugo.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.