The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, May 20th, 2011

Directed by Woody Allen

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Midnight in Paris
Academy Award® Winner
A romantic comedy set in Paris about a family that goes there because of business, and two young people who are engaged to be married in the fall have experiences there that change their...  View more >

PG-13
some sexual references and smoking

Starring Rachel McAdams, Marion Cotillard, Michael Sheen...  View more >

Academy Award® winner for:
* Original Screenplay

Academy Award® nominated for:
* Art Direction
* Directing
* Best Picture
* Original...
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Midnight in Paris.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by LindaAndScott Jun 5, 2011
[--- See Now! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJun 14, 2011

"Midnight in Paris" is Woody Allen's answer to "Back to the Future." The movie is the opening night at the Cannes Film Festival. What a great opening to the frstival. Owen Wilson plays an American writer who trasfers himself back to Paris in the 1920's to meet such famous people as Ernest Hemingway, Scott Fitzgerald, Salvador Dali, Gertunde Stein, T.S. Eliot and Josephine Backer. What Wilson learned from these people makes him a smarter person. There are thwo things that I got from this movie; 1) This movie serves as a history of 1920's Paris and the people who work and live in the city. People who are intrested in History will get a kick of learing about life in Paris in the 1920's. 2)The music score is first rate. This is one of the best scores that I ever heard. Listerning to the song "Let's Do it (Let's Fall in Love)" is heaven sent. I would rather listern to the music score, then the canned music to some of the recent movies. Right now, there are plenty of blockbuster movioes to choose from. My advice, take a break from the blockbuster movie and settle down with a quiet uplifting movie. That movie is "Midnight in Paris." 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by BigScreen Reader Jun 20, 2011

A terrible disappointment. Owen Wilson is my favorite actor and I loved Woody Allen's past work, so this catastrophe was unexpected. 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by BigScreen Reader Jul 5, 2011

So, Owen Wilson is not an actor that induces a good mood in anyone. He kind of bumbles along in this movie in that half-wit way of his. He's not amusing. He can't decide if he's in love with his fiance or with the woman he met when he travels through time to Paris.

If you are absolutely in love with Paris in the 20's, this movie's for you. But, even that gets old. I was relieved when it ended. I must say, tho, that I was surprised with all the well-known actors playing bit parts of famous characters that lived during that era. 

[--- See Now! ---]by BigScreen Reader Jul 11, 2011

This movie is funny, intriguing, charming, and nostalgic, but still grounded in reality. It allows you to both dream, and reminisce, but most of all appreciate the present. Its romantic, but unpretentious. Its delivered with light humor and the overriding message is poignant, without being preachy.

The casting is perfect, with the characters being believable and relatable. Having just returned from Paris days before seeing this movie, the beautiful scenes of the city helped to soothe my longing to return. This movie is just perfect in my book and I plan on seeing it again and again. 

[--- Good ---]by wetback39906 Aug 10, 2011
[--- See Now! ---]by BigScreen Reader Aug 23, 2011
[--- Good ---]by Matt Neffer May 27, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.