The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, March 23rd, 2012

Directed by Gary Ross
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 2:22

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Hunger Games
Every year in the ruins of what was once North America, the nation of Panem forces each of its twelve districts to send a teenage boy and girl to compete in the Hunger Games. Part twisted...  View more >

PG-13
intense violent thematic material and disturbing images - all involving teens

Starring Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Elizabeth Banks...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  7 58 See Now! Percent
Good  2 17 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 17 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 8 Stay Away! Percent
12 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Hunger Games.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by   Mar 21, 2012
[--- Good ---]by   Mar 27, 2012
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Mar 29, 2012
I wasn't almong the thousand of people who became the very first see to see "The Hunger Games." I didn't see the movie until six days after it opened. The reason is thgat got other movie to see before I'd rather be the last to see rather than the first. "The Hunger Games." When I got to the movie, I found I like the movie more than I hope. The film goes like this; The United States of America no longer exist. The new nation in question is Panen in which it was surrounded by 12 districts. Mostly the residents in those districts are living in proverty. In order to prevent uprising, (and there's is one in the movie), The Hunger Games were established. Two people a girl and a boy from each district is sent to the captial city to battle each other to the death. The people from district 12 played by Jennifer Lawrence and Josh Hutcherson were sent to do battle. The field of battle were an little intense and I was on the edge of my seat. I like the captial city and I like the people in those fancey clothes. I like Elizabeth Bank's clothes. The biggest thing that I like about the movie is Jennifer Lawrence. I love her character so much, I declare myself to be on team Katniss. Her character in the movie. Two years ago when Jennifer Lawrence were nominated for "Winter's Bone," very few people including me has heard of her. I will say this, by the end of "The Hunger Games," run everybody will know Jennifer Lawrence.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Mar 30, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by   Mar 31, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by   Apr 1, 2012
A while back when I heard about this movie, I heard it billed as "the next Twilight"... I had watched the first Twilight film, and to put it mildly, I have no interest in that series - so I planned on staying far away from the film. Then fortunately I stumbled across the trailer a week ago - and was intrigued enough to try the first chapter of the book I found as a free download at a popular online retailer - resulted in me in buying the first book an hour later, and then seeing the movie a few days after finishing it.

In my opinion, its an excellent adaptation of the book - my nitpicks between the differences are minor and probably expected considering its not a 5 hour movie. I'm a sci-fi fan, and have enjoyed "similar" movies like Running Man and Battle Royale - and Hunger Games by far out shines those two. The acting from the main cast is all good, but I have to say the lead actress (Jennifer Lawrence) is excellent. There are some very emotional scenes in the film - and a lesser actress could easily have negated the writing/directing quality and made this a mediocre film.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by   Apr 3, 2012
This is a stupid movie...I don't get it. It is worse than watching an episode of CBS Survivor. It's a very weak story line, very little creative action scenes and very little scenic beauty but a lot of childish story telling that plays to young teenagers. I just can't believe that anyone with a mind toward good entertainment with a well written, intriguing and captivating story, would be interested in this hogwash. Don't waste your money or time with this jiberish and don't bother seeing any sequels of this garbage.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Apr 4, 2012
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Apr 10, 2012
Very disappointed, was expecting something else.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Apr 10, 2012
Very good! I didn't read the books, but it draws you in right away and keeps you there!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Apr 17, 2012
One of the best movies I've seen in a long time! Some parts weren't as good as the book but it was pretty close!
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Mar 12, 2013



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.